Earthquakes and Civilizations

Daily Prompt: We Built This City
What do you love most about the city / town / place that you live in? What do you like the least about it? If you were mayor, what would be the most important problem you’d tackle? How would you tackle it?

Photographers, artists, poets: show us CIVILIZATION.

Earthquake1While searching through files for photographs of Chicago and Toronto (my native hometown and chosen home town), I felt the most unnerving ultrasonic approach of an earthquake. I do not like earthquakes and prior to moving to Oklahoma had never experienced one.

Yesterday, however, I stopped counting the occurrences after earthquake number five. Granted, these earthquakes have not been devastating to our home but they “could” be destructive – remember 2010 Haiti?

So, my whole idea of participating in today’s DP Challenge by scooting by with a couple of nice photos of Chicago and Toronto were side-winded with the thought of earthquakes and civilization. Those two words in the same sentence do not paint pretty pictures. Earthquakes can and have destroyed unsuspecting civilizations while their aftermath necessitates surviving civilizations to respond, rescue and recover.

And as Forrest Gump so precisely stated, “That’s all I have to say about that.”

BAR_LINE2

More thoughts on today’s Daily Prompt:

13 responses to “Earthquakes and Civilizations

  1. Earthquakes are a deal-breaker for me. I need the ground to stay still. At least that!

    Like

    • I’ll tell you what, since moving to Oklahoma nearly nine years ago, we go through all kinds of “nature” threats from tornadoes to fire storms, floods and within the past five or so years, earthquakes. I, and many others believe this is caused by the relentless drilling for oil and then the fracking.

      Just another assault on Mother Earth in the name of …

      Like

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: We Built This City | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  3. And when mother nature is furious watch out. Since I came to this particular city I haven’t seen this many snowstorms.it started in December 2013 or earlier,there is no sign of giving up although we’ve had few days of no storm in March, but the forecasters are telling us there is another one coming.

    Like

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt: We Built This City | The Wandering Poet

  5. Pingback: Living on Cape Cod | The Bohemian Rock Star's "Untitled Project"

  6. Pingback: We Built This City, We Built WordPress | Views Splash!

  7. Pingback: Making love – the role of the sacred. Civilisation | ALIEN AURA'S BlOG: IT'LL BLOW YOUR MIND!

  8. Pingback: [M.M.X.I.V. 68] Where Chicago and the North Shore Meet | Never A Worry

  9. Pingback: Daily Prompt: We Built This City | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

  10. Pingback: of the perceived smallness of the world | Anawnimiss

  11. Toronto is on my list of places to see…. but Montreal keeps me from taking that turn (LOL). I know who to hit up when I need some tips on the city 🙂

    Like

Thoughts on this?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.