Crazy Train? No, Crazy Bike

Daily Prompt: Let’s Go Crazy

Sometimes, we act on impulse: it could be something as small as ordering that special dessert on the menu, maybe asking out that cute boy or girl, or as large quitting your job and selling everything you own to become a shepherd in New Zealand. What’s the most crazy, outrageously impulsive thing you’ve ever done? If you’ve never succumbed to temptation, dream a little. If you gave yourself permission to go a little crazy, what would you do? Photographers, artists, poets: show us IMPULSE.

* * * * *

Can it be true? Can I have lived my life so sensibly that I cannot recall one moment, one decision, one action which would qualify as subject-matter for today’s prompt, ‘Let’s Go Crazy’?

I must have acted foolishly on some occasion in my long-ago youth. Surely I performed some death-defying, hazardous act which caused onlookers to mumble secretly, “That’s crazy!”

Harley_Davidson

© Motokobiety.pl

“Come on, think, think, think, try to remember a time when you played a practical joke on someone and it backfired,” I cheer myself onward through the dusty corridors of my mind until I see it! There, gleaming in the corner of my memories, just as beautiful and strong as it was the first time I mounted it, Brent’s Harley.

Yes, this was my “Let’s go Crazy” moment, captured safely in time, immortalized in my memory, the most death-defying, crazy thing I have ever done… ‘passengered’ upon a monstrous Harley Davidson down the center lane of a four-lane highway at midnight after closing down the local shit-kickin’ bar with my line-backer-sized boyfriend.

streetlights

© Free HD Wallpapers

I hung on for dear life as Brent accelerated faster and faster, the streetlights blurred just like a fast-motion-capture photograph. No one was around to snap that photo except for the flash-memories in my mind where I was in that photograph, for that moment, in real life.

Crazy, I enjoyed the exhilaration like nothing I had ever experienced before or since while my typical, responsible, fearful self was nowhere around to scream in panic; no, that part of myself was safely passed out somewhere in my subconscious. Crazy!

BAR_LINE2

More stories on “Let’s Go Crazy”…

20 responses to “Crazy Train? No, Crazy Bike

  1. That memory must make you think God how did I become so fearless.I’m sure that motorbike trip was exhilarating so much so when you recall it you may say to yourself how did I do it!

    Like

  2. Pingback: Walking Over There | Lisa's Kansa Muse

  3. Pingback: Crazy… (because we could have died) | I'm a Writer, Yes I Am

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Let’s Go Crazy | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  5. Pingback: Losing Money on an Impulse | A mom's blog

  6. Pingback: Reflecting on my Magic Kingdom Internship | The Bohemian Rock Star's "Untitled Project"

  7. Pingback: Is it crazy to go against society’s expectations? | A New Life Wandering

  8. Okay, now I’m thinking about my past… Sometimes it’s fun to remember those crazy things we did and then again, sometimes it’s not!

    Like

  9. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Impulse | The Wandering Poet

  10. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Let’s Go Crazy | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

  11. Pingback: Dodgy Doges and Fresher Frescoes | litadoolan

  12. Pingback: [M.M.X.I.V. 67] Elevators | Never A Worry

  13. Pingback: How I Got A Book Published “On Impulse” | The Political and Social Chaos Blog

  14. Pingback: This Right Here | Views Splash!

  15. Pingback: of impulses | Anawnimiss

  16. Pingback: Gone Sailing

  17. “”””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””XXX

    Like

  18. Pingback: Poem / Poetry – “Impulse” – “Embrace Your Impetuousness” | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Thoughts on this?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.