Birthday Traditions

DAILY PROMPT: TIME AFTER TIME
Traditions: we’ve all got ‘em. They might be family dinners on special occasions, or having a particular kind of cake on your birthday (Jeanne Cake, natch), or popcorn at the movies, or meeting your friend for a 5k run in the park, rain or shine, every Sunday morning. What are your favorite traditions, large and small? What is it about your traditions that keep them going strong for you?
Photographers, artists, poets: show us RITUAL.

~ ~ ~ ~

Being one of six children in my core family, I never expected nor was given a birthday party; none of us children were afforded those types of childhood memories. And in that same childhood, I was only invited to one birthday party of a classmate. I was uncomfortable at the party, thinking that I was of lesser value than the other girls because my family was “poor” and I could never be like the other girls who came from “normal” families. I never attended another birthday party in my childhood.

When my own children began attending school, I was certain to support their desire to socialize with other children in school as well as the neighborhood. Our home was filled with joyful laughter and play from my sons and their friends on any given day of the week from their first days of school through their last days of high school. It was so important to me that my sons learned socialization, a luxury which I was not afforded and birthday parties, to me, signified an initiation into being a social creature.

Birthday2Birthday parties were a most important ritual which I provided for my children; they enriched self-esteem through teaching their young spirits how to co-exist with others.

BAR_LINE2

Trackbacks & Pingbacks:

12 responses to “Birthday Traditions

  1. I agree with you Swoosieque, I don’t think little kids differentiate between haves and have-nots all they understand is: it’s a party let’s have fun.I have taught nine year old children, they are very sweet at that age.
    As regards birthday parties we didn’t have it when I was young. I only had birthday parties for my children when they were young and I was living in North America.
    Best wishes to you.
    Ranu

    Like

    • Oh so true. The parties were not the important part, I missed socialization. We lived on a highway, not in a neighborhood, my mother would not let us walk to any other children’s homes. I made certain that my children were not denied socialization.

      Thank you again for stopping by and especially for leaving a wonderful comment! 😀

      Like

  2. Pingback: I Wanna Live Again | Views Splash!

  3. Pingback: Family Traditions | A mom's blog

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Time After Time | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  5. Pingback: I am a writing rock band that only wants green m&m’s. ONLY GREEN ONES! | The Bohemian Rock Star's "Untitled Project"

  6. Pingback: Daily prompt: Ritual | The Wandering Poet

  7. Pingback: Daily Prompt: It’s too early yet | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice

  8. Pingback: The beauty of a fitness routine versus having a joint-eater to be thin « psychologistmimi

  9. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Time After Time | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

  10. Excellent post. i grew up in a neighborhood but was very aware that my neighborhood was nothing like that of some of my schoolmates. didnt have bday traditions until i grew up and made my own. i entered this world one minute after noon – just in time for lunch, so for years i would spend my birthday at the beach and pop some champagne at noon,

    Like

  11. Pingback: A Poetic Duet With Alex Hicks – “Capturing Rapture” | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Thoughts on this?

