The Narcissist

NARCISSIST:  narcissist or narcist [nahr-suh-sist]  noun
1.  a person who is overly self-involved, and often vain and selfish.
2.  Psychoanalysis. A person who suffers from narcissism, deriving erotic gratification from admiration of his or her own physical or mental attributes.

The above definition is attributed to Dictionary.com 

This post is in honor of one of the most unbalanced persons I have ever encountered, who, at one point actually admitted that someone had accused him/her of being a narcissist.

narcissist2

© southlakecounseling.org

My response was that the accuser was simply jealous, however, as time moved us further along into a relationship, I realized that the accuser was right-on-target with their diagnosis.

Self-absorbed persons twist every/any conversation to their purpose. They never inquire about the welfare of the person/s to whom they communicate.

They rarely (if ever) give, unless expecting a larger reciprocation.

They know how to “play” others, and do it with perfection.

Personally, I am a “giver,” however, with Narcissists, once I am convinced of their nature, I am on my way out of the relationship of enabling. The Narcissist will not understand my withdrawal from the game. I do, however, wish him/her the best of luck in growing a heart.

BAR_LINE

6 responses to “The Narcissist

  1. There’s an entire subreddit dedicated to people that have been abused by this type of person.

    https://www.reddit.com/r/raisedbynarcissists/

    I thought this might be an important thing to share since some people might not always have someone to talk to about someone like this in their lives that will understand.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I didn’t even realize there was such a term as ’emotional abuse’ until some years back, I began to hear an insistent whisper in my spirit – abuse, abuse, abuse. I wasn’t sure what to make of it. Was I to pray about it? Pray for someone? I googled it. Back then, this was the first sight that came up on Google: https://theinvisiblescar.wordpress.com/
    I read it well into the night. I came away shocked to the core to read my story played out in countless lives. Since then, I’ve made it my mission to guide other suffering souls away from narcissists, or at the very least, help them keep their sanity. Because I very nearly, and tragically, lost mine.
    Narcissists don’t deserve that kind of triumph.

    Liked by 1 person

Thoughts on this?

