And The Award Goes To…

New bloggers are typically happy with blog awards. First, it validates their blog is actually being read by someone, second, it provides an opportunity to expand their audience through link backs.

AwardFreeZoneAt some point, however, blog awards become bothersome and many vested bloggers clearly state their blogs are “Award Free Zones.” New bloggers may not understand why other bloggers choose to be award free. I can only explain my personal viewpoint regarding blog awards as follows:

  • They are extremely time consuming – typically there are at least seven questions “about me” which you need to answer.
  • Once the “about” questions are answered you need to find nominees, typically in your list of followers, to pass the award forward. This step is difficult because many blogs are “Award Free Zones.”
  • Once you have selected nominees, you must add them to your post with links to their blogs.
  • Next, you must publish your post and visitΒ each of your nominees, informing them of their nomination and provide a link back to your post.

After receiving multiple nominations for different awards, I gave a bit of thought to how I could accommodate the Nominator without bothering my followers with unwanted nominations. Here’s how:

  • Add the Nominator to my “Nominator List” on the particular award’s page – Nominators are unlimited.
  • Create the specific number of nominee link-placeholders with the wording “Your Blog Here” each time my blog is nominated for that particular award. For instance, The Sunshine Award requests to forward the award to 10 bloggers, so, each time I am nominated, I will add another ten placeholders to the List of Nominees – up to a maximum of thirty placeholders.
  • On each award page, instructions will inform the visiting blogger to write “ADD ME” in that award’s page comment section if they would like their link to be included.

In this way of handling nominations, I will be helping the Nominator by including their link back on the award page as well as allowing bloggers, who actually want the benefits of awards, to be added to the link list.

Here is an example of how I have applied this strategy to my Sunshine Award Page.
BAR_LINE2

18 responses to “And The Award Goes To…

  1. Towards the end, I would thank the person at the top of my friday posts and encourage people to check them out.
    Much easier to acknowledge the award (and giver) than following all the steps.

    Liked by 1 person

    • This is a good idea, thank you! What I was thinking was to update the actual date of my post to the date of the newest nomination. We’ll see… Thanks again for your input! πŸ˜€

      Like

  2. I tried this approach too and for a long time, made exceptions for friends — but it got ridiculous, especially since so many of the awards are intended for new bloggers who need a bump in readership. I felt more like a spammer than an award giver. It also became more and more meaningless as I frantically searched for people to whom to give them.

    It’s like a chain letter,. After a while everybody has multiple awards of every kind and it’s not an honor, it’s a day lost. The “pass it on to 7,8,9 15” other bloggers is too much and turns the whole thing into an annoyance. If you blog long enough, you reach a saturation point and don’t want to keep doing it.

    Liked by 2 people

    • I understand what you are saying, that’s why I’m thinking, hoping that my new approach might work because I won’t be answering questions anymore and the only link/s I’ll be adding to the original award page will be 1) the nominator and 2) anyone who requests their link be added to the nominees’ list. I started doing this with regard to nominees about six months ago and only had ONE person suggest another person (new blogger) be added to the list, so, I don’t think I’ll have a problem. If so, I’ve already made my “Award Free Zone” badge. πŸ˜‰

      Liked by 1 person

  3. That is the reason why I don’t like the awards!!! Fells almost unthankful, but I can not do it!! Sorry πŸ™‚

    Liked by 2 people

  4. I thankfully recline the awards, have you realise how much work you have to put on it! Answer questions, then give out more people that you think should be nominated, IΒ΄m just lazy…….

    Liked by 2 people

    • No, you’re not lazy, you realize that time is worth more than the amount it takes to participate in those “chain letter” awards.

      I read something on your blog about the “stay frosty” comment, I understand its meaning and think its great that you use it as your “signature”.

      Stay frosty and have a tremendous week and weekend! πŸ˜€

      Like

  5. Agreed! Blessings on your day. πŸ™‚

    Like

  6. I agree that it is more for new readers – and the first few awards are so special – and I actually made a very dear friend by answering my first award questions – it allowed me to open up in a personal way that I would not have otherwise done –
    anyhow, I am going to click your link now to see your idea
    hope you are having a nice week Que πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Right now, I think my idea is working. No one is pounding on my message notifications that they want to be added to the list – and I don’t have to be “bothering” people by arbitrarily nominating them. It was just a little bit of work creating the main page for each award, but, then it’s done!

      I hope you are having a nice week too!! Around here, I’m trying to get caught up on closet and carpet cleaning. Ugh! πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

  7. I’m with you. I had to put an end to it too.- I felt I spend too much time on the pc as is! lol. It was after one week that I was picked for three. I had to stop!!

    Liked by 1 person

Thoughts on this?

