Holiday Cold

head cold

© SOMEECARDS

Yesterday, I woke up feeling ill, along with exhausted from another night of interrupted sleep due to a dog wanting to stay outside the last few remaining hours before sunrise. I coughed up some yellow phlegm from my lungs and worried about pneumonia, which I’ve had twice before. Thanksgiving dinner was still a go, however. Holidays don’t get canceled because Mom is sick.

I tried dozing in my recliner while waiting for timers to alert me for the next step in whatever was needing attention in the kitchen and I informed my husband that he was in charge of making the mashed potatoes.

When dinner was finished cooking, I told my husband to go ahead and eat, I would eat later, I was tired, felt sick and wanted to doze. I waited until he was finished eating then went to the kitchen to clean up the mess, find strategically-sized containers for storing the leftovers, unloading and re-loading the dishwasher, hand-washing the pots and pans, giving the dogs their insulin shots and food.

When the kitchen was cleaned and everyone else was cared for, I pulled out the ‘leftovers’ and made myself a plate. I ate, by myself, with the dogs stationed upon the floor hoping for any dropped parcel of food which might fall from my fork. I enjoyed my quiet meal, our dining room table is open to the kitchen and it was always unsettling for me to eat a big dinner while looking at the mess I had to clean up afterward. It was much more pleasant to eat with a view of an already cleaned and organized kitchen.

The food was excellent, I am a good cook, I just hate to cook for my husband because I don’t know how to cook “Southern” and have no intentions to learn at this point. I have learned how to cook pinto beans, country fried steak and something else, but, cooking for Thanksgiving is pretty much universal, I think. At least, he hasn’t complained in eighteen years.

Rinsing my plate and loading it into the dishwasher was the last chore of the day for me and I returned to my recliner where I had my water jug, tissues and vitamin C bottle.

Today was a day of trying to fight this ‘bug’ with home remedies and lots of rest. Be well my friends!

NaBloPoMo_1114_465x287_NOV_0

DAY 28

BAR_LINE2

18 responses to “Holiday Cold

  1. Sorry your not feeling well 😦 and that you had to eat by yourself.. I feel the same way about having the dishes and kitchen all set and looking nice, I ‘m able to relax and enjoy my food then. I hope you feel much better soon :-). Take care…

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You´re a strong woman, very strong.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. forgot.
    keep the fighting spirit, you´re a source of inspiration to others

    Like

  4. I wish for you a speedy recovery. Rest we’ll!

    Like

  5. Awh a very tiring and frustrating day indeed. But we all know how strong you are, You are gonna get right up and fight through this ! Wish you a fast&furious recovery full of love and happiness. After all what doesn’t kill you makes you stronger… Much Love,
    Zee ❤

    Like

  6. Get well, my friend! I see that you are friends with Vita C. Good!! Sending Pink Healing Energy to you so that you shake that cold fast!!! (((HUGS))) Amy

    Like

  7. How you are better!

    Like

  8. sending you well wishes and don;t forget the powerful antibiotic and microbial of garlic… and what has helped me in the past has been 1/2 cup of warm water and then a clove or two of freshly crushed garlic so the allicin in the garlic is potent. actually, I prefer to have this in some chicken noodle soup and it makes it easier not he stomach – but for ease I have used the hot water and it is really amazing – and I have a half piece of sourdough toast (low yeast) and it helps to choke it down. But there is something so soothing about the warmth of the garlic tea and I know it has helped me recover in triple time – it really is an amazing healer…. whew.

    also, quick share on vitamin c. my husband insists that his powdered C has rescued him many times – and so keep in mind that tablet vitamin C are not always utilized the body as well as powdered c. Trader Joes and online the brand Now offers an amazing powdered C that has also rescued me. And on regular days a little goes a long way – but when ill – a nice teaspoon of the powdered c is like a shot of something amazing and seriously, if you have not tried it yet – be sure to get some powdered C – amazing!

    okay, have a great day and here is a blog hug (((( ❤ ))))

    Liked by 1 person

    • WOW! Thank you for more weaponry to add to my home health arsenal! I never knew about powdered Vitamin C. I’m sucking on two 500mg tablets 4 or 5 times/day so, that’s 4 or 5,000 mg/day. I need to see what the safe maximum dose is, but, I think it’s helping.
      I LOVE GARLIC and have some fresh. I will crush it an spread it on toast or, I actually like your idea of adding it to chicken soup or low sodium broth.

      You are a GEM!!! THANK YOU!!! ❤
      {{{HUGS}}} <- healthy cyber-hug 😉

      Liked by 1 person

    • oh – and when look up C – well here is one thing I have learned about it. First, on a regular everyday basis – it is ideal to get the vitamin C form the most natural source possible – and I heard that the daily about under 100 mg. And I read about a study that showed people taking more and it only seemed to help when they were ill – like I think the 3,000 mg was utilized better when immunity was needed and so their suggestion was that in essence talking large amounts of C might be a waste unless the body is fighting something off. and so I have heard that folks in recovery should take 2 to 3 thousand mg (as you noted you were) and maybe even do that twice a day.
      and romana (at – http://www.healinggrapevine.com) suggests that folks eat an orange with any vitamin c they “pop” so they can absorb it – but that is another reason why I think the powered is so effectual.

      anyhow, I know you know your stuff about healing – funny how illness makes us learn more and more – but you should really check out her site – I do not necessarily endorse her products – they seem over priced -to me – but she has some really amazing tidbits…. because our health all comes down to a “healthy body terrain”
      and on her home page she writes this just about the basic lemon (which we all know is amazing):

      The Cancer killing power of Lemons.

      Researchers are discovering some amazing facts about lemons and how the properties found in lemons are killing cancer cells in the lab.

      When I read this, I decided to start adding lemon in my water for alkalizing my system and then rubbing the pulp on sun damage spots on my face, chest, and hands. The discoloration is fading and anything that is raised is peeling off! Finding supplements that are created from our ‘food matrix’ or are plant-based is better than isolates from a lab.

      TTYL 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Thank you for the reminder of the healing powers of lemons. When we lived in Tucson, we had our very own lemon tree that honestly gave fruit year round. It was incredible. The lemons were so big and juicy!

        I’ll bookmark the link, thanks so much for adding it! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

        • your own lemon tree?? – must have been awesome. I have seen patio sized versions, but the fruits seemed tiny – anyhow, I think I forgot about how wonderful lemon water is and so I was glad to read that earlier this year. Okay, have a great night 🙂 and because laughter is also good for healing and boosting immunity – here is some (cheesy) lemon humor…

          Liked by 1 person

Thoughts on this?

