HOLIDAY TOURING: New Year’s Day!

HOLIDAY TOURING: New Years Day!

I got tapped by Marilyn at Serendipity (who was tapped by Doobster at Mindful Digressions) to participate in a “blog hop” called “Holiday Touring.” A blogger chooses a holiday, then poses 3 questions to 2 other special bloggers. The questions are about how, if at all, other bloggers celebrate that particular holiday.

Marilyn’s holiday was April Fool’s Day. She tapped me and Bill Brown at Evil Squirrel’s Nest to carry on the Holiday Touring blog hop by selecting New Year’s Day.  

Here are the questions she posed to us:

1) What do you do on New Year’s Day? Sleep off your hangover? Host a Victorian feast for a few dozen good friends? Nothing?

NewyYearsDay

© Google Images

New Year’s Day has never been a special holiday for me. My parents were not party-goers except that my father and his band provided the musical entertainment, booked a year in advance, at private parties at hotels or restaurants where reservations were also made one year in advance. Mom always worried about Dad driving home when the parties were over because of all the drunks on the road. Somehow, Dad survived without even the slightest accident on scores of New Year’s Eves.

I think we learn from our parents how to celebrate holidays, that is how traditions are born. I learned that New Year’s Eve was a time to “watch out for drunks,” and by the time I was old enough to drink alcohol, I was married and had started a family. Drinking did not seem an attractive activity, even on New Year’s Eve.

NewYearsParty

© Google Search

I did not, however, remain a teetotaler and as the children grew out of diapers and baby bottles, my late husband and I did venture out among the “drunks” one snowy, Canadian, New Year’s Eve. We ate a wonderful dinner at the Ganaraska Hotel in Port Hope, Ontario, danced and drank until last call. I think perhaps I had crossed the line and became one of those people my mother had warned about, I was one of the “drunks on the road.” Good luck for everyone though, I was not behind the wheel but strapped safely in the passenger’s seat.

MommyHangover

© Google Images

The next day was a stay-in-your-pajamas day. I made breakfast for the children, laid on the couch watching television in the family room where the children played; I only rose to drink lots and lots of water, take aspirin, make lunch, re-heat dinner and finally tuck everyone in at bedtime. That was my one and only New Year’s Eve night out and eventful (or not) New Year’s Day. After that, my husband and I opted to celebrate New Year’s Eve quietly at home, with a few cocktails and play backgammon or chess or scrabble, safely off the streets without worry of “drunks on the road.” New Year’s Day became a simple day off for everyone in our home, nothing special.

2) What are your plans for the coming holiday, if any. If you have some, tell me (and the world) what they are. If you have no plans or are, heaven forbid, working … explain how you got yourself into that mess.

We do not have any special plans for New Year’s Day, most of the time we are asleep before the last chime of midnight on New Year’s Eve. Sometimes, however, I have been fortunate to be able to Skype with one or more of my sons on New Year’s Eve and we have imbibed responsibly in cyberspace, reminiscing and laughing, telling old stories and new stories.

The only “absolute” for New Year’s Day is that my husband, who was raised in Texas and follows southern traditions, insists upon eating black-eyed peas on New Year’s Day for good luck the whole year. I typically bake a ham and make homemade scalloped potatoes and homemade cornbread with a side of canned black-eyed peas and some other vegetable. I shudder to think what might have happened had we not eaten black-eyed peas for good luck every New Year’s Day for the past eighteen years!

3) Does New Year’s Day have special meaning to you? I (for example) became engaged to my husband on January 1, 1990. If it doesn’t have special meaning, say whatever is in your heart. Sharing, as they say at WordPress, is caring.

When the children were still young, my late husband and I made a tradition that on every New Year’s Day, we would write out our hopes, predictions for what the New Year might hold and things we aimed to accomplish. We would write things like, we will finally re-finish the antique dressers for our bedroom, or we will take a camping trip to Dinosaur Valley this summer, the children were allowed to offer their predictions too.

Writing the new list of predictions for the following year was done only after opening the envelope from the previous New Year’s Day. We all gathered around as Daddy or I read the predictions, typically, a lot of laughter ensued. Sometimes, things which we hoped to achieve had been totally forgotten and were carried forward when writing the next list of predictions. A clean sheet of paper was awaiting new thoughts which might pop up while reading the previous list. After the new predictions were written, they were sealed in an envelope marked, “Do Not Open Until New Year’s Day 19xx” and stapled to the December page of the new calendar which hung upon the kitchen cork board.

Another tradition we practiced was flipping through the kitchen’s calendar to review the recently completed year. Mostly the calendar was filled with Hockey practices, games, tournaments, LaCrosse practices, games, tournaments, Baseball, practices… friend’s birthday parties… you get the picture? The pages were filled with activities for all of the boys. Sometimes I wondered how we got through those crazy busy days, sometimes I wished for peace and quiet, but, let me tell you, peace and quiet isn’t all it’s cracked up to be. I would give anything to live one of those crazy days, just once, just one day back then. On second thought, maybe not. I would not want it to end.

Now it’s time for me to pick a holiday and pass the torch to some unsuspecting blogger who is just sitting around waiting for me to tag him or her for this honor.

MothersDayMem

© Google Images

I’m pulling blogs, not rabbits, out of a hat to choose the next lucky participants and the honors to carry on this Holiday Touring “blog hop” go to: Aletta at Now At Home and Leigh W. Smith at Leigh’s Wordsmithery. And your holiday is Mother’s Day. According to Wikipedia, which everyone holds in higher esteem than the Great Wizard of Oz, this holiday is celebrated throughout much of the world, but not on the same day, it is also secular.

Here are the questions, answer however you wish, about your own mother or your experience as a mother:

1) Do you have a favorite Mother’s Day memory? If so, what made it special? If not, make one up.

2) How did/do you, your family, celebrate Mother’s Day? Is there a large family gathering at someone’s home or is “Mom” treated to dinner at a fine restaurant? 

3) Tell us a habit of your mother’s which you saw as uniquely hers and if you inherited the same habit. Was it something you admired or thought of as ‘quirky’?

NaBloPoMo_1114_465x287_NOV_0

DAY 26

 

BAR_LINE2

3 responses to “HOLIDAY TOURING: New Year’s Day!

  1. Nicely done! I look forward to New Year’s Day as a quiet day for eating a nice meal with Garry. It’s also a good day for friends to visit, since everyone (almost) is not working. But it’s kind of a non holiday 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi, Swoosieque, and many thanks for the tap. I’d love to participate if it’s not too late. Lucky me, I got sick over the Thanksgiving holiday [Who knew I had/have an allergy to duck eggs, but apparently I do], so I haven’t been doing any blogging and, sadly, almost no blog-reading. Just let me know and I’ll spin a yarn of something if it’s not too late.

    Liked by 1 person

    • When it was sent to me, there was no time limitation on when it had to be completed, so, take your time.

      So sad to hear of your duck egg allergy, I’ve never heard of anything like that! Glad you are on the mend!

      If I don’t “see” you before the 25th, have a wonderful Christmas!! 😀

      Like

Thoughts on this?

