Bringing Romance Back

I’ve been so tired and stressed out lately, it happens every year around this time because taxes are coming due, and house and car insurance and this year, the health insurance requires me to choose a new plan. All of these tasks require research and lots of phone calls and phone tag in addition to whatever doctor appointments are still remaining for the rest of the year.

So, as exhausted as I feel, my idea of a perfect day off is simple, a day when my kitchen automatically cleans itself. Someone else greets me in the morning with freshly brewed coffee and directs me to the recliner in the living room, “Here, enjoy your coffee, watch the morning news, I’ll give the dogs their insulin injections and measure their food and bandage Buddy’s paw. I’ll also make Hubby’s breakfast for him and clean up the kitchen afterward.”
Oh, would it be nice to leisurely drink my first cup of coffee and have someone else do all those chores that I normally do while attempting to consume that coffee.

After the kitchen was cleaned and the dogs and hubby cared for by my “maid”, I would lay out my clothes, comfy clothes, for the day and take a nice, long, hot shower and slather in baby oil afterward, I love how soft it makes my skin. After dressing, I would even put on a little bit of eye make up, some liner and a touch of mascara because my face is very pale and with my dark, dark eyes and white hair, I look ghostly if I don’t at least put on eyeliner and a touch of mascara, oh, and a little brushing of eyebrow pencil for brows that are just a figment of my imagination. It feels good to look decent and gives me a boost of energy!

My brain is full of numbers and insurance plans, both health and home and vehicle, I need a break, so I pop the first DVD in the Harry Potter movie franchise. I will spend the day escaping reality, cuddled in my recliner and imagining Harry’s world.

Lunch would be provided by my maid for myself and my husband, I think I would have her make homemade pizza, yes, and a scoop of spumoni ice cream for a small dessert. I would take a brisk walk to the mailbox in the cold air, enjoying the brief chill upon my face and hands. The mail would be placed upon my desk for attention another day.

Hubby would return for work and I would return to my day with Harry Potter movies, with a few breaks in between for personal phone calls.

Before one would know it, hubby’s workday would be finished and he would be walking through the front door. The maid still having work to do, greets him with his favorite, nightly mixed drink then tends to the dogs for their insulin shots and food. She’ll check Buddy’s paw bandages one more time.

Finally, my maid will present dinner, homemade Beef Stroganoff with asperagus and sweet peas. She would serve perfectly chilled Cabernet-Sauvignon, the candles that sit upon our dining room table would have been lit for the first time in nine years, the table set properly, with linen napkins, cutlery, platters and trivets for the hot serving vessels. Romantic saxophone music would reverberate through the air, setting the mood for a memorable, date-like evening dinner, the kind I remember having thirty some years ago.

After dinner was finished, the maid would clear the table while asking if we would like her specialty after-dinner drink – “real” Irish Coffee. Oh, how could anyone say no. I have only tasted “real” Irish Coffee in a restaurant in downtown Toronto nearly forty years ago and it was out of this world! It was artfully created, presented and man did it knock one’s socks off! Whew!

“Oh yes, please, I would like a ‘real’ Irish Coffee, please.” Hubby chose instead his regular whiskey and coke cocktail.

With dinner finished, the kitchen cleaned, heads sufficiently affected with slight inebriation, we said good-night and good-bye to my maid-for-the-day. I returned to my last Harry Potter movie before preparing for bed while my husband retreated to the garage to practice his bad habit of smoking, it’s too cold anymore for him to sit on the patio, so, he sits alone with his bad habit. Poor guy. I remember that addiction all too well and thank God, the Heavens, drugs and perseverance that I had quit more than a year ago. He’s trying – well, he’s taking Chantix, but, I don’t know if he has the biggest ingredients necessary to quit – the desire and will. Without those two things, it’s a losing proposition, but, I am going to remain positive!

Today’s thought inspired by: Daily Post – Sparkling or Still – What’s your idea of a perfect day off: one during which you can quietly relax, doing nothing, or one with one fun activity lined up after the other? Tell us how you’d spend your time.

NaBloPoMo_1114_465x287_NOV_0

DAY 20

BAR_LINE2

11 responses to “Bringing Romance Back

  1. A robot would serve this function for you nicely.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. oh to have a maid, that would be nice!

    Like

  3. Wow, I’m tired already after reading the day in the life… But I must say if the maid were a real possibility it would be quite nice :-). I think smoking is one of the toughest things to do! It took me at least a dozen times before it actually worked, that’s been about 16 or so years!! I wish him a lot of luck with it. And I agree if it’s not in his heart to quit it probably is not going to work! Remaining positive is the best thing you can do as that shows him you believe in his ability to do it…

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Oops Sorry!! I meant quit smoking is one of the hardest things to do 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Remember when we had dreams of Paris? Or travel to exotic realms? Of grand hotels and islands with hot and cold running waiters? Now, we are happy if we don’t have to cook, clean, and deal with customer service. I’m with you, all the way.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. When you read about what this Maid needs to do every day, I realize where the hours of each day disappear too!! I need her too! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  7. To be at home with H.P. for 24 hours, wrapped in warmth does sound ‘wicked’ now doesn’t it 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Thoughts on this?

