Where No Man’s Gone

Hmmmm, let’s see now, I have just been given a key that can open one building, room, locker or box to which I do not normally have access, how will I use it and why?

I do not have access to a very many places, like the Governor’s Mansion, the vault at our bank or, better yet, Fort Knox, even though there is speculation that no gold bars are there anymore. Am I curious enough to waste this golden key to find out that particular truth? Nope. It’s like the old saying, “If I tell you, I’ll have to kill you.” That’s not true either, I mean, look at the multitude of conspiracy theories floating around, there actually may be some truths among them but because they are so incredible, people guffaw at their possibilities. Besides, Brad Meltzer thinks he has already proven that our gold bars are all gone, Fort Knox is empty of everything… if you believe everything Brad Meltzer portends, cough, cough.

lvngrm3

© Swoosieque
Vaulted Ceiling – Fan
On Move-in Day

What I would really like  to unlock with a golden key is something ethereal, my cat’s mind. Yes. I want to know what that lunatic thinks when she goes flying through the air from the couch to the recliner, from the recliner to the bookshelf, back to the recliner and starts eyeing the fan on the vaulted ceiling in the living room then looks back at me as if I might be the right height for her to land upon as the next step to her final achievement, the ceiling fan! For her, that would be the equivalent, I’m sure, of conquering Mt. Everest, every crazy cat’s greatest dream, to ride the ceiling fan. When I see that look on her face, I quickly exit the room.

One habit of hers which scared me to the point of nearly calling our local University Ghostbuster’s Department (isn’t that what they call it)? Oh, the Paranormal Studies Department is the proper term? No matter what you call it, I was ready to contact them to set up an overnight stay, convinced, by my cat, that our house was haunted, if not the whole house, at least the picture hanging in one of our hallways was certainly haunted.

PoltergeistDog

© MGM
Poltergeist

Opie, my cat, would sit on the floor and stare at that picture for hours. Yes, I said hours! She looked like the dog in the movie Poltergeist when it brought its ball onto the bed and stared at the wall above the headboard. I was honestly starting to get freaked out and worried that maybe the previous owner died in this house and was still hanging around, but I thought for sure I was told she had died in hospice. Can ghosts come back to their home if they didn’t die there? I’ll have to ask Brad Meltzer that one, he seems to know all about that kind of stuff.

Anyway, I believe that cats have super duper radar for such weirdness as ghosts and such, so, I needed to decipher what was possessed, the wall of the hallway or the picture I hanged there. I took the picture down and hid it in a closet. Opie’s watch continued as she still sat in the hallway, staring upward on that wall.

I had not yet told my husband that we may be living in a haunted house, he thinks I’m crazy anyway because I love sci-fi stories, and UFO conspiracies, but I don’t watch ghost hunting programs because I think they are just like “reality” t.v., hyped up, dramatic, scripted garbage. That’s not to say that I do not believe in a spirit world, I just don’t believe all the cr*p that’s in those t.v. shows. It’s all about network ratings and whatever sells. But, back to my haunted house…

So, I told my husband about our own ghost hunting cat when he was home for lunch and she happened to be sitting in the hallway, staring at the wall. He called her, she wouldn’t come, but that’s not unusual, I don’t know many cats that will come when you call them. She used to come when I called her when she was a little bitty kitten, but, since she’s all grown up and Queen of the house, she does what she wants, cats are like that, individual thinking, ghost and dragon hunting creatures. My husband had no ideas with what she was so intrigued; his interest was diverted back to his job and went back to work.

Opie’s behavior continued and as long as I wasn’t hearing any strange moans and groans or having chairs stacked upon one another in the dining room, I decided to let whatever spirit might be living here, to go ahead and stay with us, as long as no one got hurt. Oh, and on a side note, the dogs never noticed anything strange about that hall or the picture upon it, but they do cry to me if the cat is blocking their path and I have to stop whatever I’m doing and shoo the cat out of their way. 

OpieDragon

OPIE’s Mind

Back to the haunting. One day, as I kissed my husband good-bye when he was leaving the house after lunch, I closed the front door and saw Opie charge toward the hallway wall. I stopped in my tracks. That is when I figured out the mystery. The shadows, reflections of my husband’s pick-up truck mirrors and windows were fluttering upon the wall. That was it! I pulled up a chair in the dining room and sat and watched the cat watch the wall.

Anything that flew by the front yard, or drove by with a reflective surface cast movement upon that wall. Mystery solved! No ghost! No spirit! Just a cat with an imagination as big as the universe! I think it would be so fun to be inside her imagination and that is what I would open with my golden key.

Today’s thoughts inspired by: Daily Post: Golden KeyYou’ve been given a key that can open one building, room, locker, or box to which you don’t normally have access. How do you use it, and why?

NaBloPoMo_1114_465x287_NOV_0

DAY 17

BAR_LINE2

4 responses to “Where No Man’s Gone

  1. Trust the dog and cat. Feed your husband a bit of alcoholic lubrication prior to explaining that your house is haunted … or wait for him to notice. He might. Eventually, right?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I enjoyed your story so, that I laughed out loud! (lol) I can just picture the cat sitting there staring at the wall! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Thoughts on this?

