As Long As It Takes

waiting-room2

© Michael Moore
Sicko

Q: How long is reasonable to wait for something you really want?
A: As long as it takes.

That’s a simple answer to a broad question with, of course, some parameters, such as, what I’m waiting for must be a possible reality. For instance, if I am waiting to fly to the Moon, I am assured that there will not be enough time, in my lifetime, for that to happen. Thus, waiting through infinity would be a reasonable amount of time for me to fly to the Moon.

doctors-talkingHere’s another one with a different possibility, I’m waiting for the diagnosis that will allow the as-yet-not-cooked-cataract in my left eye to be removed before the end of this year. My Optometrist says it’s ready for removal, the Ophthalmologist he sent me to says it is not ready to be removed. I will wait six days from today and be seen by another Ophthalmologist, Dr. Firestone, at the Dean McGee Eye Institute for his evaluation. This is a situation for which I am anxiously awaiting a positive diagnosis so that my eye can have its surgery before the end of this year since I have already met my insurance deductible. My appointment with this Ophthalmologist was made two and a half weeks ago which I believe is a common wait time for this type of doctor.

At this stage in my life, I really do not have much to ‘wait’ for; time is too precious to anxiously sit with one goal on my mind. I’ll eat breakfast, clean up the kitchen, start the dishwasher, fold some laundry while ‘waiting’ for the dishwasher to finish, then I’ll start making spaghetti sauce from scratch while still waiting for the dishwasher to finish, which takes two and a half hours – it’s a really bad dishwasher and I have to hand-wash everything before placing it in there.

While ‘waiting’ for the dishwasher to finish and letting the spaghetti sauce simmer, I will shred a pile of paperwork and create an expense report for my husband. Speaking of husband, it would be just about time for him to arrive home for lunch so I will take a break from his expense report and make some lunch while still waiting for the dishwasher, spaghetti sauce and on-hold expense report to be finished.

WaitChristmas6

© Tricia Reilly-Matthews

There will be a lot more ‘waiting’ throughout my typical day, but nothing that makes me impatient nor fills me with the child-like excitement of waiting for Christmas.

Today’s thoughts inspired by: Daily Post: Waiting Room“Good things come to those who wait.” Do you agree? How long is it reasonable to wait for something you really want?

NaBloPoMo_1114_465x287_NOV_0

DAY 17

 

BAR_LINE2

Thoughts on this?

