Going Uphill

coffee1

© Google Search

We met in the coffee shop. I arrived first and was anxious to see how I fared within the next ten years. Would my hair still be long and blonde? Would I still be thin? I imagined we would still look very similar to one another, especially since it would in essence be “me” but from the future, from ten years from now.

I ordered two Columbian Roast coffees with cream, nothing fancy. I didn’t worry about what “she” would want, I assumed my, er, her, um, our taste would still be the same. Within minutes of the coffee arriving at my table, a woman was entering the coffee shop.

Something about her aroused my spirit, could that be her? I mean, me? No. She’s too old. She’s heavy! I have never been heavy in my life! Holy sh*t! What the f**k happened to me to end up looking like that? Her hair is completely white! She walks like an old person. Things are supposed to get easier as you get older, aren’t they? Haven’t I been through the worse with being widowed, raising four sons…?

Without saying anything, she came to my table, pulled up a chair and stared at me, my face, my eyes, my eyes. It was like she could travel through space, looking into my eyes. I swear I saw tears well up in her own eyes and then she spoke after taking a sip of her coffee and nodding her head that it was good.

treeroots2

© Google Search

“You are going to face the most challenging times of your life within these next ten years. Your heart will be broken over and over but that’s only because the roots of your love grow deeper and deeper. Imagine the mighty tree whose roots crack man made foundations, parkways and sidewalks. The cracking, the breaking is of the surface, not the entity. You will grow to understand this and finally be at peace with your great sensitivities which will become greater and deeper.

“The reflection you see and believe of yourself from others will be shattered as you finally realize yourself for who you are and separate the liars from your life. There will be many from whom you will choose to separate. This will be a good thing, it will open doors for you. You will grow in wisdom from this experience.

ghandi2

© Mahatma Gandhi

“You will question many, many past decisions of your life but you will remain steadfast in listening to your inner voice and know – that voice is what continues to guide and save you from serious, nearly unrecoverable disasters. Never desert your instinct, it is an incredible gift which has been blessed upon you.

“Someone from your past will be in touch with you. You lose many nights of sleep as you consider the offer this person presents to you. Your inner-voice stands stronger than ever to guide you in making the right decision and peace with the past while staying on your path.

“There will be many health issues within your home. You will face the possibility of death as you learn of a disease you have. I am here, so you already know that you survive up to November of 2014. Beyond that, no one knows how long they have. Do not concentrate on how much time is left, for in that wonder thieves are stealing your present – the gift of time.

UphillBattle

© Google Search

“Rest. Forgive yourself. Trust your instincts. Practice love. Accept love. The next ten years are going to put you through Hell but bring you closer to Heaven. Remember, going uphill is better than lying under it.”

Today’s thoughts inspired by: Daily Post: Good TidingsPresent-day you meets 10-years-ago you for coffee. Share with your younger self the most challenging thing, the most rewarding thing, and the most fun thing they have to look forward to.

NABLOPOMO

DAY 15

BAR_LINE2

17 responses to “Going Uphill

  1. Been a Hell of a decade, hasn’t it?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. A very deep and powerful post!! I can feel the honesty in your description and most of all, I feel you perseverance!! It is crazy how life has so many twists and turns and challenges, but at the end of the day, it is our inner spirit and inner drive that keeps us going and improving! (And I read the writing prompt this time 😉 )

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hahahaha, I love the part where you read the writing prompt! You made me smile!
      Thank you for your kind compliment and taking the time to comment. I am glad that you agree with the point I tried to make. Have a terrific day! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I used the daily prompt today too. I don’t know about you but wow when writing it really does bring back those memories! Hits home you know. First time I have used the prompt. Yours is very good!!

    Like

    • Thank you so much! I’ve been trying to use the prompts pretty much on a daily basis unless I have some medical situation that I want to record. Now, I’m off to visit you! 😀

      Like

  4. My younger self wouldn’t believe the way the future would turn out. Although some things were really good like my kids, I don’t think she’d want to hear about the challenges and bad things ahead. Your younger self is much braver than my younger self.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I don’t think my younger self had any choice. That is a lesson I learned long ago, to recognize when choices aren’t an option and just learn how to survive. I’m not complaining though! Life is good and I can still smile, laugh and be very grateful for being blessed with wonderful sons and pretty much good health, until very recently. 😀
      Thank you so much for taking the time to comment!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Pingback: Child – Only By Definition | Rahul Creatrix's Blog

  6. your a great writer – and this riveted me from the first sentence 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh my goodness! Thank you so, so, so very much. I am humbled by your compliment! 😀

      Like

      • well that made me smile – and whew this was one of my favorite parts:
        “Rest. Forgive yourself. Trust your instincts. Practice love. Accept love. The next ten years are going to put you through Hell but bring you closer to Heaven. Remember, going uphill is better than lying under it.”

        Like

  7. Great post Swoosie! Just as well we don’t know what lies ahead in our lives!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Your words are so powerful and speak so loudly to me that I have a lump in my throat and tears in my eyes. You are such a gifted writer to be able to express what you did here. Yes, I too have been going up a very steep hill, and believe me, your words gave me so much HOPE. Bless you for giving me something today to hold onto when the floor falls out from under me. None of us has any guarantees when we breathe our last breath. I just want to make it to the top of this mighty hill I find myself on, and say I DID IT! (((HUGS))) Amy

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Pingback: Daily Prompt – Good Tidings | Lord of the Sick - Saviour of the World

  10. Pingback: Daily Prompt – Good Tidings | Lord of the Sick - Saviour of the World

Thoughts on this?

