Tabasco Roads

mountain_top_t

© Google Search

The higher the mountain, the sweeter the view. But that’s not to say I seek out difficult challenges – to the contrary, when I make plans, I tend to lean toward the easiest way to achieve an end goal, keeping in mind the shortest distance between two points is a straight line.

Life, however, does not happen that way – on a flat plane with clear-cut signs. There are unexpected bumps and ruts and flooded paths, even sink holes. In my life, I have been detoured, run off the road, and nearly totaled, but, I’m still here and right now, I am off track with my life-as-a-highway comparison since today’s prompt calls for a different analogy, failure flavoring success.

If my life successes were entrées, they would be filled with jalapenos, cayenne pepper, and chili powder. Tabasco sauce would wash it all down. Yum! Hot and definitely spicy are the success stories of my youth, flavored by many, many failures which led to ultimate successes.

kissing1

© Google Search

Lead-footed, I often raced through life-situations, – can’t seem to get away from the life-is-a-highway theme here – keeping my eyes on the prize with blinders – tunnel vision. Impatience was my constant companion, in a hurry to grow up, in a hurry to fall in love. That love part was filled with the hottest, spiciest, occasionally volatile failures as well as successes and I wouldn’t give those up for anything.

Many miles of time have transformed once bitter, hateful, desperate tears into a refreshed, clear vision of purpose. I still try to avoid difficult ways to achieve things, I still plan the shortest, straightest route, but, I know better than to expect success without some failures and multiple attempts.

hotsauce1

© Google Search

I am better prepared for success these days, as I am more patient, less hurried, stronger-willed and self-assured. Now, can you pass the chili peppers and Tabasco please? I see a fork in the road ahead.

Based on the Theme from The Daily Post: The Spice of Success – If “failure is the condiment that gives success its flavor” (Truman Capote), how spicy do you like your success stories?

NaBloPoMo_1114_465x287_NOV_0

DAY FOUR

BAR_LINE2

3 responses to “Tabasco Roads

  1. “Tabasco Roads” = RATS! I wish I thought of that title – congrats!! Love the post 🙂

    Like

  2. That sounds like a rough ride… but you seem none the worse for it… Salute to that spirit behind the words…. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Thoughts on this?

