Middle-class Female

Daily Post: Buyers, Beware?The year is 2214, and your computer’s dusty hard drive has just resurfaced at an antique store. Write a note to the curious buyer explaining what he or she will find there.

Dear Buyer:

Today is November 3, 2014, two hundred years from now, motherboards, c.p.u.s, video cards, flat screen monitors and hard drives will be things of a long ago past, kind of like how technologies of 1814 are viewed today – in my time. Two hundred years ago, gas lighting was becoming the newest rage. It was on December 31, 1813 that the Westminster Bridge was first lighted by gas. Imagine the awe of onlookers. Mankind knew nothing of how processing and using fossil fuels would poison the earth.

chandelierGas

© Google Search

What once was the rage so long ago has been replaced with modern technologies and when I found an antique, gas chandelier, I wanted it. I had to have it. I would not be able to use it as-is, due to safety regulations though. None of that mattered to me. I would have the chandelier re-worked to meet today’s standards. My old gas chandelier would once again illuminate with a golden glow, the kind which only the burning fuel of natural gas can emit.

In my time, we find it hard to imagine life without electricity, I wonder what your ‘time’ will find difficult to live without. I wonder how you plan to read what is contained on my antique hard drive. Where will you take it and how will you read it since imagining two hundred years of advancement leaves my mind as if in a blinding snowstorm. I cannot conceive of the technologies which lay ahead.

Will Nikola Tesla’s dream of building a global communication system—through a large, electrical tower—for sharing information and providing free electricity throughout the world have finally become a reality in your world? Will mankind have stopped polluting the earth and each others’ minds? Will disputes be solved through thoughtful process without greed and destruction – without war?

Do you read words with your eyes or are thoughts transmitted telekinetically? What will you think when you see hundreds of images of my family and photos of places I have never visited but saved anyway because I like to dream. Will you understand thoughts I have written, hopes as well as fears?

Anyway, it’s all yours now. Letters, pictures, music, classic literature. I hope you can learn something about how the majority of the population during this time wants better lives for our future generations – you – beginning with a deeper consciousness and respect of Mother Earth and her creatures. Some of us are trying to make changes, some don’t know how and some just don’t care, they think it’s someone else’s problem.

Peace,
Middle-class female

NaBloPoMo_1114_465x287_NOV_0

DAY THREE

BAR_LINE2

5 responses to “Middle-class Female

  1. Because technology is just tools. We will always be people and we will always need the same things we needed in caves, grass huts, houses and high-rises. If we don’t kill our world, that is. Nice!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I just hope my 2214 we are all being nice to each other. There is a thought.

    Like

  3. What a wonderful topic and post!

    Like

  4. It is amazing how everything has changed throughout the years, especially how we have become so used to functioning with technology.

    Like

Thoughts on this?

