Three in a Row

Daily Post: Trio No. 3Today you can write about anything, in whatever genre or form, but your post must mention a dark night, your fridge, and tears (of joy or sadness; your call). Feel free to switch one ingredient if you have to (or revisit one from previous trio prompts).

Dark night, fridge, tears…

powerOutage

© Google Search

Tonight would be the third in a row without power since stormy winds and lightening damaged the power lines. How crazy that above-ground power lines still exist, why aren’t they all buried and why is it that my little neighborhood has buried power lines but we’re still out of power? I know, I know, because my neighborhood’s power is connected to other, bigger power lines which are above ground and connected to even bigger above-ground power lines and if any of those are damaged then, kapoof, we’re out of power along with everyone else who are connected to those big power lines.

The first night wasn’t so bad. I have enough flash lights, batteries and candles to be able to navigate through the house on a dark night and the first night reminded me of when we would lose power for only one night when the boys were young — it would be an opportunity for us to sit by candlelight and tell scary chain-stories. Those stormy nights were something to look forward to and are fondly remembered by all. But, tonight, the boys are gone, they are grown up with families of their own, living far away, in sunny places, in snowy places, maybe even in a stormy place, but, none of them live nearby in this stormy place.

Day four without power, I wonder how long the food in the fridge will remain edible? I go to take inventory, sniffing the most likely culprits to spoil first, turkey lunch meat, milk, leftover spaghetti. I think the turkey lunch meat has gone bad, something just doesn’t smell right, better toss it. Taking a spoonful of the spaghetti, my taste buds confirm it is still edible, no bad smell or after-taste. Good, that’s what we’ll have for dinner again, third night in a row since pulling it from the deep freezer, but tonight will probably be the last night it will be edible.

Rotten Milk

© scribbls.com

I open the container of milk and breathe in a hefty whiff, only to be staggered by the offensive, rotten smell, tears well-up in my eyes and I must cough to rid myself of the awful stench. Thank goodness we have bottled water to quench our thirsts even though I cannot use tap water to rinse the rancid milk down the drain since we are rural and require electricity to pump water from the well through our faucets. I’ll just keep the milk in the fridge until the power is back on and I can wash it down the drain.

lamp5

© Dan Witz

Suddenly, the sounds of motors and electricity fill the air and lights push away darkness! The power outage is over! Sweetness!
BAR_LINE2

15 responses to “Three in a Row

  1. We lose power frequently, but not for long timeframes, and every darn time I ask myself how the settlers did it. I am cold, can’t see a blessed thing, I ram into the 1000 lb glass coffee table every stinking time, I am so hungry and top it off – no coffee! Eeek!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh, I know! Missing hot coffee is the worst part! Well, no, not having stored pails of water to flush the toilets would be the worst thing. yuck! I would not be a happy camper if we lost the power grid, I think there would be great upheaval if we were forced back to the pioneer days and ways!

      Liked by 2 people

  2. I like how you turned a clearly Halloween themed prompt in to a nice regular story about life.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Yup. We who live in the country feel especially vulnerable to power outages because we living more on our own than suburban and city dwellers. None of our lines are buried. I’m surprised the power is ON as much as it is!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. This story teaches me not to take what people do to màke life better for me for granted. Often we take things for granted until we do not have them. It is when we have no power that we are more aware of the great work being done by the power suppliers. Great post.

    Like

    • Oh thank you! Yes, we don’t often think about the power-line guys (one of my sons is one of those high-power-wire guys.) It is a dangerous job for our conveniences.

      Thank you so very much for stopping by and taking the time to comment!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Great story! I hate it when the power goes out!!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Hi – thanks for dropping by for my Modigliani post – 🙂 and the timing of your visit was spot on cause I was just thinking of you – and was needing to check in on your blog!

    and this post resonated with me a lot – because we have buried lines but have lost power few times because we are connected to the grid – and I agree – all lines should be buried by now, eh? anyhow, we also having aging kids – and I so vidily recall the candles and story times and firing up the grill with neighbors to use up food before it went bad…. and I also just like your writing, it flows and you are not wordy – just enjoy it. 🙂
    okay, have a great weekend and glad your power came back on….
    Peace

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Man that must suck having to go through that and I didn’t not know that you have to wait for the electricity to come on to dump spoiled milk into the sink. Well if you do have the time check out my post I would really appreciate the feedback.

    http://franzical.wordpress.com/2014/10/30/ode-to-a-condiment/

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Pingback: Acrostic Poem / Poetry – “Left Logically Yet Rightly Creative” | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Thoughts on this?

