Familiar Hearts

Daily Post: Doppelgänger Alert
You step into an acquaintance’s house for the first time, and discover that everything — from the furniture, to the books, to the art on the wall — is identical to your home. What happens next?

It was to be my first employee gathering since starting my position as Human Resources Manager three months ago. It’s hard to believe three months have whizzed by so fast and Christmas parties have been happening every weekend since Thanksgiving. This one, though, would be my first attendance at an employee party the last weekend before Christmas, the last party. I knew I had better attend since I graciously declined the previous invitations due to the flu and a personal problem.

The party was to be held at Paul Bearman’s home, yes, the C.F.O. I had met Paul when being introduced to the staff at a weekly meeting. He seemed like a nice man. How much can a person surmise in only a few minutes greeting anyway? Yet, something stuck with me. Something seemed awfully familiar with him. It was a definite feeling of Déjà vu, even stronger than Déjà vu if there is such a thing.

My daily work rarely called for interaction with Paul other than a question or two during the monthly meetings of which we were both regulars. I tried to hide the lingering feeling of familiarity whenever I met with him yet, subconsciously trying to pinpoint where I may have met him.

Today was a particularly rough day for me. Many new changes were upcoming with health and benefit coverage, there was so much organizing to be done and then one of the girls in payroll went into premature labor leaving the department shorthanded. It was the last day before our one-week, paid Christmas vacation. I needed to finish the organizing, payroll and check in on Mandy at the hospital on my way home. I was so delighted to kick off my shoes and sink into the patio lounge chair at my little home.

The next evening, I left my home at six-thirty which would give me enough time to fight any traffic and arrive at Paul’s home on time for the festivities. I brought a bottle of Cabernet Sauvignon with me, a neat little curly ribbon adorned the bottle neck and I rang the doorbell.

Paul answered the door himself and greeted me with an infectious smile and kiss on the cheek, “Thank you so much for coming!” Pointing to the bottle of wine he said, “You needn’t have brought that, we have plenty.”

GreatRoom

© Pulte Homes

“It’s just a custom I have.” I smiled and followed him in until I stopped in my tracks, took in the view around me, looked at him again and realized where I had met him before. In another life, in another time. This was just another incarnation for both of us and we found each other once more. What would our story be this time?

I fell hard upon the floor as the blood drained from my head and I passed out. Paul quickly dialed 9-1-1 and rode in the ambulance with me to the hospital where I was cleared for release after several hours of testing and observation.

“I think we’d better get you home. Let me drop you off.” Paul called his home and two of his friends met us at the hospital where Paul retrieved his vehicle and we headed off to my home.

Still dazed, I wasn’t sure how I was going to keep Paul from fainting when he saw my home. What if he hasn’t felt any kinship with me? What if he didn’t recognize Déjà vu? My head hurt too badly to think or try to plan anything out. The pieces would fall where they may. I may get fired, he may think I’m some kind of stalker. I don’t care. I need ice for my headache.

GreatRoomBlu

© Pulte Homes

On the landing, I handed Paul my keys and he unlocked my front door. Somehow, how did he know? How did he know where the light switch was located? He turned it on. He saw what I saw, turned me around and held me close as he gently kissed my forehead and my lips.

“I knew it. I knew it was you the first time I saw you during that first meeting but I wasn’t sure if you recognized me, Catherine.”

“Oh Heathcliff, I’d know you anywhere!”

Sometimes I can be such a cornball!!

BAR_LINE2

4 responses to “Familiar Hearts

  1. I hope you guys do better THIS time around!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I enjoyed it!!! You are a very talented writer!!!

    Liked by 1 person

Thoughts on this?

