A Doll’s Life

Daily Post: Imaginary FriendMany of us had imaginary friends as young children. If your imaginary friend grew up alongside you, what would his/her/its life be like today? (Didn’t have one? write about a non-imaginary friend you haven’t seen since childhood.)

My imaginary friend was not invisible, she was physically manifested in my Barbie doll.

Barbie5

©Mattell’s Barbie Doll

Barbie was my best friend. I would hide in a corner and play-out many happy occasions as Barbie. And of course, there had to be make-believe drama events that Barbie would resolve because she was smart, pretty, a good big sister to Skipper, a helpful friend to Midge, the perfect girlfriend and eventual wife to Ken.

She even became a mother! Really. There was a snap-on attachment to her body which gave the illusion of a pregnant woman, inside the snap-on was a tiny baby so that little girls could complete the story and Barbie would have a “real” baby to mother. Of course, there were accessories. The whole pregnancy idea was a brilliant, money-making gimmick. And in those days, girls played “house” not astronaut or doctor.

For some reason though, I cannot find any photos nor reference to Barbie’s belly-baby back in the 60’s. I see references to Midge being pregnant in the 90’s, but, nowhere can I find the snap-on belly and baby that was in the 60’s. Someone on Ebay had one for sale, but the photo was removed since it was already sold. My Barbie and friends have been gone for many, many years and I have no photographs of my collection, otherwise I could snap a photograph and show you her snap-on baby-belly.

I cherished my Barbie doll, she helped me through much unhappiness. She and Ken would dress up and go out to eat and then dancing and kiss. They loved each other very much. It always made me feel happy when Barbie and Ken did something happy.

Eventually, the time came to put Barbie and her friends away, in my closet. I was growing up. A few years later, I dug my Barbie, her friends and all of their paraphernalia out of the closet to give to my older sister for her daughter. In a way, I kind of wish I had kept one of the dolls, just because there was so much “energy” embedded in those play toys – tears, dreams-come-true and hopeful scenarios. Barbie helped me through my childhood.

What would Barbie be doing today? My Barbie? My Barbie would be a retired electrical engineer, living in Alaska with Dr. Ken, he became a brain surgeon. Their four sons would live only a day’s drive away in any direction, convenient for Ken and Barbie to visit with their children and grandchildren.

Barbie would be in the Autumn of her life and be very, very, very happy.

BAR_LINE2

10 responses to “A Doll’s Life

  1. Great story! Had a Barbie doll like that too!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. If knew about the snap on pregnancy tummy and tiny plastic infant? I might have been too creeped out to allow my granddaughter’s collection to live in the house. I’m a fine one to talk, with my 200+ dolls all over the place — only one of which was a True Friend — but the others were HER friends. I’m glad Barbi is happy. So many years in such high heeled feet — I hope she has ice packs and a recliner!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Sweet! I was never much for dolls myself, but I loved reading your story. And I had a Barbie doll, and wanted the pregnancy belly but my mom said no, I would have my own soon enough and not to go rushing things because it’s a lot more work than you’d expect.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hahaha… I don’t remember my mother saying anything to me about the baby belly. I started scrubbing floors on my hands and knees when I was six for 50¢ a floor, so I saved my coins and that’s how I afforded the dolls and clothes… and baby belly. 😀

      Like

  4. My sister loved Barbie but I don’t remember the pregnant Barbie!! Lovely story!!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I had a Barbie too when I was a young girl – I had the kissing one. I still think she’s in my parent’s attic.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Awwh this was such a heart warming account from your life Swoosie ! The good ol’ days of playing with Barbies, Aaah ! You took me back to my childhood…Great post ! 🙂 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Thoughts on this?

