My Hat Trick, er, uh, Walk-off

Daily Post: Grand SlamThe World Series starts tonight! In your own life, what would be the equivalent of a walk-off home run? (For the baseball-averse, that’s a last-minute, back-against-the-wall play that guarantees a dramatic victory.)

This is easy, although I would rather have the analogy of a hockey shoot out, it doesn’t really make any difference, the end of the game is the same – winner!

My walk-off moment occurred last year after receiving the pathology and further testing reports for the type and stage of my breast cancer.

Worried

© Chris Turner

After the diagnosis was confirmed, the really scary part of being told you have breast cancer begins – how bad is it? The thought of how much time do I have left is ever-present but never spoken, not to anyone because they are just as scared as you are – your children, your spouse, I even think my dogs knew that something was wrong.

ThankStars

© Swoosieque

When the waiting was over, the tests processed and reported, I bravely met with my Oncologist who informed me with a smile that she never has the opportunity to tell cancer patients good news, but in my case, I scored a “HAT TRICK” (for those averse to hockey it is a term meaning three scores by one player in the game.) She told me, “Your stars are aligned like I have never seen in all my years of practice! You have lucky stars!

All of my pathology tests came back to indicate that the cancer I had was not an aggressive cancer. Estrogen Receptor = 95% favorable, KI67 MIB-1 = 2% Borderline, DNA INDEX = 1.00 Diploid, HER-2 NEU (FISH) = NOT AMPLIFIED. This meant that I would not need radiation nor chemotherapy! I did choose bilateral mastectomy to keep my lucky streak going and I would take a hormone blocker for the next five years. Visits with my Oncologist would be bi-annual.

charlie-sheen-winning

© Google Search

Wouldn’t you call that a HOME RUN or a GRAND SLAM or a WALK-OUT, er, um, WALK-OFF?

Or, as Charlie Sheen might once have said, “WINNING!”

BAR_LINE2

10 responses to “My Hat Trick, er, uh, Walk-off

  1. I have heard there are troubles of more than one kind.
    Some come from ahead and some come from behind.
    But I’ve bought a big bat. I’m all ready you see.
    Now my troubles are going to have troubles with me!
    ~Dr. Seuss
    …Congratulations, You have lucky stars!“ and because of it a difference you will in someones life!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Your strength and courage just to write this is so inspiring – I am so proud that you are ‘winning’. You are such an inspiration. You give others hope and you make people realize that life is a gift and we should all live it and make the most out of it!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Remember the saying about, “… you are only given what you are strong enough to handle…?” Believe me, there are women in the breast cancer fight much stronger than me. If writing my blog will help just one person, then, that’s good.
      Thank you so much for your kind remark and taking the time to comment! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I’ll have to keep on praying for your fast recovery & remission~

    Like

  4. Pingback: holy cow it’s a home run! | eastelmhurst.a.go.go

  5. I had to come over and check out your blog having gotten (or taken?) a breather. You have guts — and optimism — but I think they are related. 😉

    Like

Thoughts on this?

