That’s the Difference?!

Daily Post: Unequal TermsDid you know today is Blog Action Day? Join bloggers from around the world and write a post about what inequality means to you. Have you ever encountered it in your daily life?

Inequality1I grew up with inequality in the home. I did not know it at the time, but, the home in which I lived was fashioned after patriarchal principles. Males were the preferred offspring. Savings would be stashed away for the male offspring’s educations. I was told that I would be nothing more than a “factory-worker’s wife,” an education would be wasted on me.

This was my first, up-close and personal experience with inequality.

BAR_LINE2

6 responses to “That’s the Difference?!

  1. That’s truly Sad, but thankfully things changing now, I hope so. 🙂 I had to also face lot of inequality at home too, being the elder son, I had to constantly keep sacrificing a lot in life and continue to do so. 🙂

    Like

    • Cultural traditions seem very difficult to break, especially in a family situation where one generation repeats expectations of previous generations “just because.”

      Thankfully, my story of inequality has not been repeated in my children or in their children.

      Bless you for all that you do for your family. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Powerful story, Swoosieque. Nonetheless, I’m glad you’re the smart, strong, and opinionated lady you are. We women, even with quiet voices, have to be “subversive” and rock the boat sometimes, don’t we? 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Thoughts on this?

