A Digital Reader

Daily Post: Reader’s Block – What’s the longest you’ve ever gone without reading a book (since learning how to read, of course)? Which book was it that helped break the dry spell?

reading

© Unknown thru Google Search

Surprisingly, when my children were very young, toddlers, I read novels much more frequently than when they grew older, or even recently. I typically chose my reading material from the New York Times Best Seller’s List and was never disappointed. I wondered how it could be possible that I was able to fit in regular reading when I had two young boys? I remember being busy when the boys were little ones, yet, I found time to read daily, why can I not find time nowadays? The children are grown and moved away, I am semi-retired with much less mandatory daily duties than when the children lived at home, yet, I find it extremely difficult to make time for reading novels. What do I do with my time?

A typical day begins with rolling out of bed, turning on the computer on my way to having a cup of coffee during which time I measure the dogs’ food and insulin syringes then administer the injections while they are chowing down. Oh, I cannot forget one more medication – the Incurin for my female who has urinary incontinence. I spread peanut butter on a piece of bread and hide the 1/2 pill on half of the bread. I must share the other half of that piece of bread with our male dog otherwise he stares at me with those eyes that cry, “What about mine?”

Within the first two hours of waking, I typically finish my morning tasks and then head for my computer. Oh. Computer. THAT is where the majority of my reading takes place. I read, a lot, daily, but it is online-reading, not novels. The last novel I started and finished was Stephen King’s 11/22/63, prior to that was Wicked: Life and Times of the Wicked Witch of the West and before that, Devil in the White City . Everything, other than absolute essential tasks, like insulin injections,are put on hold while my eyeballs, glued to the screen of my Kindle, devour good stories and writing.

I purchased The Bondswoman’s Narratives and am anxious to start reading it, but, need to have a few more medical procedures completed before I can hide from reality for a day or two to read the book from start to finish. I am not the type of person that can start a book, read a few pages, put it down and pick it up later. When I need to put the book down, it must be at the end of a chapter, and even then I have a hard time putting it down.

I am also a ‘picky’ reader. I read one of the Twilight books and was incredibly disappointed at the “style” of writing, only to realize that it was written for a teenage audience – no wonder I disliked it.

kindle6

© Amazon Kindle

Whenever I finish The Bondwoman’s Narrative, my next novel is The Catcher in the Rye. Incredibly enough, that book somehow escaped me, all these years. After that, I shall begin reading Robert Heinlein, a friend suggested I would enjoy Heinlein and gave me the title of a book which I have since forgotten. I am embarrassed, but I will ask him for that title again… it might not be until next year though!
BAR_LINE2

One response to “A Digital Reader

  1. Blogging chops into my reading time. And writing eats a lot of time and energy.

    Liked by 1 person

Thoughts on this?

