Back to Romance

The Daily Post One-Way Street – Congrats! You’re the owner of a new time machine. The catch? It comes in two models, each traveling one way only: the past OR the future. Which do you choose, and why?

GoBackTime2

© From the movie: Safety Not Guaranteed

When I saw today’s Daily Prompt, a memory flashed back and I had to find it. I had to find that classified ad, the one where some nut wanted a friend to traverse back in time and return together.

There was mention of bring your own weapons at which my imagination rocketed. What kind of weapons would safely travel within a time machine? What happens when you run out of ammunition? What happens if you change an important historical event, creating a paradox, a butterfly effect?

“You’ll get paid after we get back.” What kind of pay are we talking about, especially if something goes horribly wrong and we don’t come back to the future as we know it now?

No. No thanks to this quest. If I were to go back in time, which would be my preference rather than into the future, because I fear mankind will continue his destructive nature and the future will be a most unfriendly, unhappy place.

MeetStLouis2

© Meet Me in St. Louis

Rather, I would go back to a time and place like in the movies, Lady and the Tramp, or the time and place of Meet Me In St. Louis. Yes. If I had to go back in time, I would want to go back in time with the caveat of going back in time into a lovely movie. In my movie, there would be no war, no violence.

I think this premise has already been explored in the movie, Pleasantville. Yes. I would be similar to the character played by Reese Witherspoon and choose to stay in movieland, in the movie Meet Me In St. Louis.

BAR_LINE2

2 responses to “Back to Romance

  1. I love that movie too, but I only want to go if I can sing like Judy Garland 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Thoughts on this?

