Share Your World – 2014 Week 38

I just found Cee’s Share Your World Weekly Writing Challenges and am so happy for another source for prompts. I like the ones she has challenged us with for this week, 38, of 2014:

Oak

©Unknown
Source: Google

If you could be a tree or plant, what would you be?

I would want to be a giant oak. My branches would provide shelter for wildlife – birds, squirrels and whomever else would need refuge in my strength. I would provide shade for the weary workmen who lunch beneath my bows. When my trunk and roots become sickly, I would provide the perfect home for owls who prefer to live in the hollow skeletons of old, towering trees.

TeaCookiesIf you could have a servant come to your house every day for one hour, what would you have them do?

I would ask the servant his/her name and invite them into my kitchen, asking if they would make a pot of tea. I would motion for him/her to accompany me onto the patio with the tray of tea and cookies and sit with me. I would ask questions about their life, I would point out activities in the backyard from its tenants, especially the one crazy, squirrel with a white spot on its back. We would commiserate and for one hour a week, in time, escape the ordinary.

water-poured-into-glass

©WiseGeek

If you could have an endless supply of any food, what would you get?

Water. I am not sure that water qualifies as a food, but, right off the top of my head, I would want an endless supply of water more than anything because of its life-giving and sustaining qualities.

GirlPlayPianoWhat was one of your first moneymaking jobs (other than babysitting or newspaper delivery)?

My first job was a clerk at my Dad’s music studio. I would greet the customers who came for their music lessons. A year later, I was teaching piano at a young 16 years of age. My father, a professional musician, made certain that all of his children learned to play an instrument. I began my musical training at six years old. By the time of eighth grade graduation, my music teacher told my father that she could teach me no more. I knew everything she could teach me. I played classical music.

I-am-grateful-for-sentenceBonus question: What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up?

I don’t remember last week, too much health/illness issues to deal with here, but, in general, I am thankful for life and my health and the lives and health of my family. I am looking forward to my pain management appointment, maybe acupuncture? And to be able to cross off my list, cataract surgery.

 

CeesShareYourWorld

BAR_LINE2

11 responses to “Share Your World – 2014 Week 38

  1. Water. Good choice. As I have learned, without water, nothing lives. Feel better. Let’s BOTH feel better. Being sickly is so BORING.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m actually going to do something crazy this week – buy myself a light brown wig and look into the mirror and …. either laugh out loud or say, Hmmmmm, not so bad! Hahahahaa… All of this after cataract surgery, of course. 😉

      Like

      • I have cataracts, but they aren’t bad enough to fix. Garry had the surgery. He now has fighter pilot eyes, but can’t read the labels on the shelves in the supermarket without reading glasses. They can make your eyes better, but not young.

        I have a pile of wigs I bought when my hair was falling out. Hot, sweaty things. I got rid of a bunch of them, but I think I still have — in my trunk — a half dozen. Expect a laugh,, a horrified gurgle, then another laugh.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Great answers! When I was insurance eligible for cataract surgery, I opted for lens replacement. I have mono lenses, one eye is for distance, one for close up. The brain is amazing because they work together and no more glasses! Back to 20/20! I love it! Hope you have a wonderful week and feel better.

    Like

    • Only 1 of my eyes is eligible for the surgery, the other eye isn’t “ready” yet. 😦 So, the eye that is ready is the one I had macular hole repair done, my vision still has a “blip” in the center of my vision, but, the Dr. said it will keep improving up to 6 months later, so, he didn’t think I was a candidate for the monovision. I can do the contact lens in the other eye for closeup until its ready for cataract surgery. I’m optimistic!

      Thanks so much for commenting!!

      Like

  3. Really nicely written! I loved your responses, especially about your dad and playing piano. And sitting down with the person who would come to your house and talking. I would like to do that, too

    Like

  4. I love your servant/helper question. What is better than sitting down and just enjoying the outdoors and tea with a wonderful chat about nothing and everything all at the same time. Great pamper.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I love this kind of thing – thank you so much!

    Like

Thoughts on this?

