Bachelor Uncle – An Interview

The Daily Post Weekly Writing Challenge: Interview – For this week’s challenge, let someone else do the talking.

Omit your questions from the post entirely, presenting your readers with the uninterrupted flow of your interviewee’s words (the Humans of New York project has really perfected this form — take a look and see if you feel like giving it a try).

CottgGrov1“We were so poor. It was our duty, Sam, Johnny and me, to take care of Ma and Pa. It took the three of us to pool our savings together to buy the house we lived in. None of us made good money back then. We shared the living expenses and took care of Ma and Pa. Between the three of us older brothers, we only had one dress shirt. One white shirt. If any of us would have run off with a girl, like young Jim did, what would happen to Ma and Pa? Separate, none of us could afford that nice house on Cottage Grove. Back in those days, kids took care of their parents, that’s just how it was done.

©Swoosieque

“Like I said, none of us made good money back then. I was just a clerk at G.M., bottom of the rung, making less money than Sam and Johnny, so, I went to beauty school, took a course in hairdressing. There weren’t many men in the class, mostly it was women, hahaha… Anyway, I figured I’d get a weekend job at a beauty salon or barber shop to make extra money. Not only that, I’d be able to give Ma the nice hair cuts and permanents she wanted but couldn’t afford. Sam and John liked saving the extra bucks on haircuts too but don’t forget, your mom, your aunts, your cousins – everyone got haircuts and permanents. It was a good deal!

“I have no idea why Pa never spoke to me, never, not one word my whole life. I don’t know. I heard that he had a big, drunken brawl with his brother in the apartment building in Pullman. They were both drunk and ended up fighting in the building’s hallway. One of them fell into the wood stove, knocking it over. Hot coals went everywhere. They never spoke to or saw each other after that fight. Someone told me it was because Pa accused Stanley of sleeping with Ma. Who knows, maybe he thought I was his brother’s son. I’ll never know. But, I think it’s strange that in the end, I was the one who took care of him when he was dying; I was the only one with him when he took his last breath.

OldMan1

©RexFeatures

“Of course! Yep, I get lonely now, especially since I can’t drive anymore. I’m stuck at home. Sam still lives here, but he goes out every day to the boats to gamble. Everybody’s dying off, your mom, your dad… the nieces and nephews all live so far away, nobody ever stops by to visit. Did you know my dog died? I don’t even go to church anymore.”

BAR_LINE2

One response to “Bachelor Uncle – An Interview

  1. Pingback: Interview | Blogged With Words

Thoughts on this?

