Shoestrings and Gristle, Come and Get It

Daily Post: Mouths Wide Shut
Are you a picky eater? Share some of your favorite food quirks with us (the more exotic, the better!). Omnivores: what’s the one thing you won’t eat?

Recipe3

Newspaper Recipe Clippings
© Unknown – Source Google

I grew up in a carnivorous home. We ate meat everyday – for lunch and dinner. Dinners were mostly some kind of casserole recipe which Mom snipped from the Chicago Tribune, she had an entire scrapbook – pages filled with pasted hamburger recipes. Hamburger was cheap back then. It also had little to no preservatives, hormones or antibiotics like today. Back then, little girls were not upon the threshold of puberty at the tender age of eight or nine years old.

Chicken must have been more expensive because we rarely had any meals containing chicken. Occasionally Mom would fry fish, which I hated and went to bed starving rather than eat it. It was not that I disliked the taste of fish, I disliked the tremendous fear I had of choking on a fish bone after hearing a gruesome story of my Aunt Helen who did just that. To this day, Aunt Helen will not eat fish, even canned tuna fish, which I will eat and actually love, but that is not to say that I loved the tuna fish casserole that Mom cooked on many Fridays – I also went to bed hungry on those days.

rumproast1

Roast Beef
© Unknown – Source Google

Mom served special dinners on Sunday, roast beef. Roast beef was special because it was more costly than hamburger meat, therefore, it was special and one five pound roast could feed her family of eight. I hated roast beef. The taste was alright, best I can remember, but, I hated trying to chew the meat. It was always like chewing shoe strings! And then, there were those chunks of gristle that I would spit out and put on the side of my plate. Most of my plate became filled with chewed, stringy bits of muscle or globs of gristle.

dogFeedTable

© Unknown – Source Google

When I was disciplined for not eating my food, I learned a better way of disposing the inedible meat – our dog! She was a mean one, a mutt, a mean mutt, but she was not overly large and could fit underneath the kitchen table quite nicely and she was most pleasant during those times. I wondered who else might be slipping their inedibles to her besides me.

To this day, if I am invited anywhere that roast beef is the main entrée, I hope there is a dog around who is allowed in the dining area. If there is no dog, I have been known to secretly “cough” into my table napkin throughout the meal, and later empty the contents of the napkin in the garbage receptacle. There have been, however, occasions where I was unable to discretely empty my napkin in the garbage and had to slip it into a pocket and dispose of it at home. Dogs are much easier garbage disposals than table napkins.

BAR_LINE2

19 responses to “Shoestrings and Gristle, Come and Get It

  1. I hate coconut. It’s just about the only thing I refuse to eat. It’s a texture thing–it feels like I have a mouth full of straw.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I read your comment before realizing to which post you were commenting, I thought this had to do with the “dryness” post where coconut oil was discussed with Crisco! Hahahaha

      Anyway, I agree about the texture of coconut, but have liked coconut pie, I think they shred the coconut more finely – maybe. 😉

      Like

  2. And I’m SURE you made a LOT of canine pals over the years! Good beef isn’t tough and stringy. And certainly not when cooked properly. I mostly like my own cooking best. I know what I like. And that’s what I make for dinner 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Me too. I don’t eat the stuff my husband eats – a lot of fried foods and red meat. I eat mostly chicken but feel guilty about any meat, especially after watching… Vegucated. I feel so guilty.

      Like

      • Yes. Me too. Serious guilt. But with all my other issues and surgeries, I have an excessively high requirement for protein. I don’t like tofu. So chicken, fish, and cheese has to fill the gap. If I tried to do it all with beans, no one would stay in a room with me. Maybe not even me.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. “I won’t eat anything that used to have a face.” That’s a quote from Paul McCartney; describes me too. I was always like that, even as a small child. Don’t know why. I can still hear my brother: “Ma! She’s calling her dinner Bessie again!”

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I don’t think I can say I’ve ever had a beef roast with gristle in it. Odd. I prefer pork roasts, though. To me, they’re more tender.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Solely because I wish to reduce my carbon footprint I get almost all my protein from beans or from sustainably harvested seafood. I have recently fallen in love with sardines. They have lots of good stuff and very little bad stuff. I also eat a lot of wild caught salmon – nothing farmed. I acquired quite a taste for herring while visiting Iceland in 2012 and grab some of that now and again. If it comes from the sea, I probably love it!
    To answer your initial question, I am not a picky eater and like to try local fare when traveling. I do still have a habit that I am sure carried over from 8 years in Catholic school eating from compartmentalized cafeteria trays. Students could not go to recess unless “plates were clean” . Since I knew I had to eat it all, I always work “worst to best”. So the first thing I eat is always the thing I like the least. This creates quite a conundrum if you set a plate in front of me with steamed fresh asparagus, Florida stone crab, corn on the cob, and Ben&Jerry’s Cookie Dough Ice Cream. I would not know where to start!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I envy your good eating habits and it puts me to shame with my own.

      I also went to Catholic grade school, ours didn’t have a cafeteria, we were all lunch bag kiddos, except for those who could walk home for lunch. The nuns didn’t monitor whether we ate our lunches or not.

      I would love to go all vegan but I have a really screwed up digestive system. Oatmeal sends my intestines into a cramping lock down – broccoli flares up my diverticula, when I mix iceberg lettuce and tomatoes, the same thing happens as when I eat oatmeal, so, when I eat a salad, it is composed of lettuce and that’s it. But, I can eat tuna and sardines! I love sardines!! 🙂

      Like

  6. I never grew up with much roast beef. After having it a few times, I was wholly enamored. Just thinking about pocketing roast beef gives me a good laugh. Thanks.

    Like

  7. As a child, fussy eating was not an option 🙂 …so the only things that were a no no were allergy related…however, have used the canine trick often resulting in some very rotund and content dachshunds

    Like

  8. Haha what a kind soul you are ! Feeding the dogs ^_^
    I eat almost everything, though not a great fan of fruits 😛

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Pingback: 6 Simple Food Quirks in My Everyday Life | Ramisa the Authoress

  10. Pingback: Shoestrings and Gristle, Come and Get It | Exposure

  11. of all the ‘mouths wide shut’ posts I have read today, your post really sent me to another place. As I was reading I was transported back to all the meals my mother would make (many of them not so great) but the things we ate, certain meals on certain days, etc. Thank you so much – that was a lovely memberable trip you took me on 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Thoughts on this?

