Cee’s Share Your World – 2014 – Week 35

Every Monday, Cee’s Photography does a feature called Share Your World in which she asks 4 questions and the participants answer them. Here is a link to this week’s challenge: Cee’s Share Your World – 2014 Week 35

  • Have your blogging goals changed?
  • If you were to perform in the circus, what would you do?
  • If you could go back and talk to yourself at age 18 what advice would you give yourself? Or if you are younger than 25 what words of wisdom would you like to tell yourself at age 45?
  • What is your favorite comfort snack food?
  • Bonus question: What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up?

  • Have your blogging goals changed? – 
    Not really. I began this blog as a place to chronicle everything I was experiencing when I was diagnosed with breast cancer. I wrote about the different tests, procedures, doctors, healing and I participated in some of the fun writing topics posed by Word Press. I was not a daily participant in those writing exercises, too much of life kept getting in the way. Now that I have a little bit of time to write, I find that I no longer like the new format of the Daily Post. I also find their topics are growing stale.

    I will continue blogging and my subject matter still contains quite a bit of medical dramas – like my recent eye surgery, my husband’s tick-disease illness, my diabetic dogs’ care. When and if these medical issues wane, I would continue writing simply because I find writing to be cathartic. I enjoy writing!

    ElephantCircusIf you were to perform in the circus, what would you do? Oh no! No. No. No. No. I think circuses should be outlawed. I have read too many articles of how the circus animals are being abused and I hate it. I despise any organization which participates in any sort of animal abuse, especially for human “entertainment.” So, if I HAD TO work at the circus, I would be a renegade bull elephant and lead a mass exodus of all circus animals out of bondage! I would lead them to a ship waiting in the nearby harbor and we would sail off to Madagascar! Or, somewhere we could roam free. The only way animals should be captured, is on FILM, in their native habitat!

    If you could go back and talk to yourself at age 18 what advice would you give yourself? Or if you are younger than 25 what words of wisdom would you like to tell yourself at age 45? – Hmmmm… my first thought in answer to this question was, “Don’t get married so young!”
    I would tell myself to wait for marriage.Go ahead, move out of that crazy family you were born into. Live with your boyfriend, go ahead, break the rules and take birth control. Don’t start a family until your lives are more settled and mature. Start and finish college!

    What is your favorite comfort snack food?  – I was on a very unhealthy diet of chocolate ice cream! Well, it wasn’t really a diet, it was depression eating and I honestly believe it contributed to my developing cancer, especially since I now know that cancer loves sugar – glucose. So… my comfort snack food now is a bowl of lettuce with a little bit of oil & vinegar and sliced avocado. I still crave sweets and it is a battle sometimes.

    Bonus question: What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up? – I had to think about this. With all the medical appointments around here, I honestly forgot what and when I was doing anything. Now I remember! One night last week, my husband was scheduled for an MRI late in the day, 6:30 p.m. We were told the procedure would only take an hour and a half. I was concerned about the time only from the standpoint of being able to see to drive home. Yes, I was the designated driver since my husband needs a sedative for claustrophobia – and a knock-out drug for riding with me!

    By 8:30 p.m., I was the only one left in the waiting area. I began to pace, staring out the windows, watching the sun go down. My pacing and yawning continued until TEN O’CLOCK! TEN O’CLOCK at night! There is no hint of daylight at ten o’clock at night, at least not where I live. It was dark, pitch black dark! And I had to drive us home – me, with my one bad eye and one partially good eye.

    BadLadyDrvr

    © Dan Gibson

    My husband is nervous to be a passenger of mine at any time of the day, but, he was in for a bigger scare being the passenger as I drove us home down the highway – in the dark! I admittedly was driving like a little old lady, one of those old-timers I used to swear at for being out past dark and wondering what on earth an old fart is doing out that late at night anyway! Yep, I had become one of my own pet peeves.

    chineseWtrTrtrBut, I digressed. The whole point of my story is that I am thankful for arriving home in one piece, safe and sound. My husband still contends that riding with me is like a Chinese torture. I told him to find another ride next time.

    BAR_LINE2

    5 responses to “Cee’s Share Your World – 2014 – Week 35

    1. Thanks so much for sharing. Hope you hubby gets some good treatments.

      Liked by 1 person

    2. Glad to have you joining in. These are fun and sometimes interesting too. Makes a nice break from the nitty gritty of our lives.

      Liked by 1 person

    3. We are kindred spirits regarding the circus. And we’ll throw Sea World in the mix as well.
      Great advice for your younger self.
      Finally, so glad you made it home from Doc appt. Damn, these are trying times indeed.

      Liked by 1 person

    Thoughts on this?

    