Vitrectomy Pre-surgery Appointment

My meeting with the eye surgeon took place on Friday the 13th, of June 2014.

The technician ran me through a battery of tests to compare with the test reports my optometrist performed the previous day. Of course, the results matched, confirming the diagnosis of macular hole.

Dr. Scott explained the vitrectomy procedure to me and emphasized the importance of maintaining a face-down position for two weeks afterward. There was not much conversation during that visit, especially since the doctor basically repeated everything I had already read on the subject. The only thing left to discuss was my decision to either go forward or go blind in that eye. The decision was automatic, I wanted to save my vision in that eye.

Dr. Scott indicated to the technician that he could probably fit me in the following Wednesday, June 18th. The technician reminded him of an already existing surgery on that morning. “That’s fine,” he explained to her, “we can fit this surgery in before the child since this won’t take that long.” He looked at my husband and I for confirmation.

My husband spoke up, “No, that won’t work. It can’t be before the 4th of July.” Hmmm.. what was this all about? And then I realized that during this year, my husband had taken off so much time from work for my breast cancer surgery and appointments, he no longer had any sick-time nor vacation hours remaining. The new calendar year would begin July 1st at which time his vacation and sick hours would be replenished.

“Ok then,” Dr. Scott agreed, “go along with Cassidy and she’ll set you up with a date that works. And don’t forget, if you have any questions, any questions at all, give me a call.” He shook mine and my husband’s hands and we all left the room.

Cassidy met us at the front desk area with a new surgery date of July 9th with an arrival time of 7:30 a.m. She also gave me a pamphlet for a local company which rents “vitrectomy chairs” at a rate of $200 per week and explained that insurance companies do NOT consider the chair or peripherals as medical equipment – rental fees would be a personal, non-reimbursable expense.

gotyourback

©gotyourback.com
Vitrectomy chair

I glanced at the pamphlet and recognized the “vitrectomy chair” as nearly an identical product as a “massage chair” other than a slight difference with the size and shape of the “face cushion.” I planned to research the cost of buying a “massage chair” as opposed to renting a “vitrectomy chair.” I was determined to save money.

MassageChair

©SwoosieQue
BestMassage Chair

My first choice of where-to-buy-from is Amazon because I love their return policy and have had wonderful experiences dealing with them. Searching for a “massage chair” brought up only one choice, but the price was right! For $59, plus shipping of $20 something, I felt that this was a better bargain than paying $400 for a rental. Besides, I can always sell it back on Amazon!

I ordered the massage chair while preparing easy access to everyday items I might need while maintaining the face-down position. I also bought two mirrors to use for viewing television from my massage chair. All that was left to do was clean the carpets. It was beginning to look like everything would be organized long before my actual surgery date. That is, until…. my husband ended up in the hospital with sepsis. So much for his not taking anymore time off of work this fiscal year!

BAR_LINE2

7 responses to “Vitrectomy Pre-surgery Appointment

  1. Oh no – so sorry to hear this. What ghastly bad luck. Do hope all well soonest. xxx

    Like

  2. How are you doing now? Has your doctor told you if the hole is closed? Been praying for you!

    Like

    • It’s not looking good. The bubble is still present and distorting about 50% of my “lower” vision, but, the upper portion of my site still has the distortion of the hole. I am so, so terribly saddened by this.
      The doctor couldn’t determine anything at my last visit at 2 weeks exactly, he couldn’t see through the gas bubble. I see him again this Friday and I already know what he is going to see because I “see” the problem.

      Thanks for the prayers. There’s a reason for everything.

      Like

  3. What terrible luck. I’m so sorry to hear all of this. I hope it all gets straightened out soon. All my empathy with you and yours.

    Like

    • Thank you! Rotten luck with this problem but I’m trying to learn acceptance and not question the “why’s”.

      When I lift myself out of this depression, I’ll be better able to write about this chapter without negative bias.

      Like

  4. Dammit! Dammit for you and for your husband. If you ever wished to be in the ring with Smokin’ Joe Frazier, I think your last several months have proven that your dream has come true. I don’t wanna tell you to keep fighting because surely you must be tired of that. Just know I am sending positive Mojo your way.

    Like

    • Thanks for the Mojo! I’m ready for a bottle of wine and a good cigar, except that I typically don’t drink and I quit smoking cigarettes a year ago.

      Healing of this hole is not looking successful and my only option is another of the same surgery. I’ll be meeting with the surgeon on Friday. I’m leaning toward foregoing another surgery – failures can be very expensive.

      P.S. I am SOOOO glad that you are back in the blogging world!!

      Like

Thoughts on this?

