My Macular Hole

Just when I thought it was safe to get back to a normal life, POWIE, another medical mess presented itself.

It began with noticing that my vision was declining. As one of six siblings, I had the extreme fortune of having perfect vision (both parents and all five siblings needed eye glasses from a young age) until my forty-third year when I noticed near-vision was becoming blurry. Checking with an optometrist, my vision was 20/20 but I had presbyopia, the need for reading glasses. No prescription was required, I lived for years with cheap drug store reading glasses.

A few years ago, I noticed that my near-vision problem had grown to not being able to see clearly a little farther than my arm’s length. My vision still read 20/20 except for a slight astigmatism. All vision problems were corrected with my first pair of tri-focals. I had tried the no-line glasses but traded them for the lined type because the no-line lenses gave me terrific headaches and dizziness.

ladyMacular

© Unknown
Simulation of Vision with Macular Hole

More recently, for some months now, I thought my vision was again deteriorating further, so last week, I phoned to make an appointment with my eye doctor. My appointment was set for two weeks from now, until I phoned yesterday explaining that I needed more immediate help – I was losing central vision in my right eye. The receptionist made an appointment for the next day.

Here I am, one and a half hours after my appointment. My self-diagnosis was correct – I have a Macular Hole, Stage IV. The doctor told me that never, in all his years of practice had any patient been correct with self-diagnosis from internet information until me.

061214_SueEyeMacular

© Swoosieque
My Macular Hole Right Eye

Dr. Christiansen carefully and slowly explained the situation to me, using visuals of my multiple testing results and comparing those results with my “good” left eye. The difference was very clear to me.

Since I anticipated Dr. Christiansen’s professional diagnosis, I was prepared for the next step to be an appointment with an eye surgeon. That appointment is tomorrow morning, 9:45 a.m. The eye surgeon will discuss my condition, the options for treatment, recovery, the possibilities of further disintegration and… my biggest question – could this have been caused by a brain tumor?

Cancer is still on my mind even if it’s not in my chest anymore. It’s like I “know” that those words are going to come back again, “It’s Cancer!”  But when?

I must rest my eyes right now, the accompanying headache with this condition is a bother. Being on the computer aggravates my pain, as does the reality of how uncomfortable the recovery of vitrectomy surgery is. For the surgery to have a chance of ninety percent success, the patient must keep the head in a face-down position for TWO WEEKS!!! Bilateral mastectomy recovery was comfortable compared to this!

BAR_LINE2

14 responses to “My Macular Hole

  1. Oh no, I am so sorry to hear this. Poor you, how horrible and anxiety-provoking. Hugs, Ali xxx

    Like

  2. It seems that some of us never catch a break. My mother had the same condition and it WAS cured with surgery. Successfully for more than 20 years. Just so you know, sometimes the magic works.

    Like

    • Oh, thank you for taking the time to share that important information with me! It makes me feel so much better that her surgery lasted more than 20 years!

      I just purchased a “massage chair” to live in for the two weeks face-down post op. Thanks again Marilyn!

      Like

  3. I’m so sorry to hear about this. I hope the surgery will get you good as new. I’ve been concerned about my vision lately also. I’m just like you, 20/20 until the early 40’s and then blurry close vision. I’ve noticed in the last couple of months (finished chemo and radiation late last year) that my near vision is getting worse and worse. The eye doctor says nothing is wrong, but I wonder if the treatment affected my vision. And….I totally know what you mean about wondering when the other cancer shoe will drop. I hate to think that way, but you can’t help it.

    Like

    • Thank you so much for commenting! Have you tried another eye doctor for a 2nd opinion?

      I didn’t have radiation or chemo, just the bilateral mastectomies, so I can’t blame this condition on anything other than growing older.

      So many of us who have gone through breast cancer harbor that same ghost of recurrence. Thanks for reminding me that I’m not alone in that way of thinking when something physical is wrong. 🙂

      Like

  4. Oh my goodness, so sorry to hear this. Two weeks head down! Ugh…

    Like

    • I am so glad I “saved” percocets and Flexerils from the bilateral mastectomy and my back problem treatment, it is going to be HELL to live head-down for two weeks!

      Like

  5. So sorry to hear this, please take care.

    Like

  6. Ugh!!! I’m so sorry you have to deal with this. My father had it and in know how frustrating it is. Keep on fighting!

    Like

  7. Any updates yet?? I hope that you get some answers soon!

    Like

  8. I hope all is well with you, and that you have already had your surgery and are healing wonderfully:) (HUGS).

    Like

Thoughts on this?

