Turn Around

StonHus3HlwenI have accepted the fact that I cannot possibly live long enough, no matter how long I live, to finish digitizing all of the photographs I took while my children were growing. Oh, sure, if I sat at my computer from daybreak until bedtime, every single day, maybe in a few months every negative and slide would be digitized, but, I do not want to do that.

My scanner, Epson Perfection 1260, has attachments which allow me to scan negatives and slides, that is why I bought it because of the multitude of negatives and slides in my collection. We had our own darkroom and did our own developing when the boys were young and I had a hair-trigger-finger when it came to shooting my old Canon AE-1 camera aimed at my sons who were the subjects of 99% of all photos.

It is, however, difficult looking through all of these memories – alone. My sons live in varying locations on this continent and life commitments to their own families make it difficult for get-togethers. Their father passed away when our youngest was only eight years old, he is not here to share these memories with me either.

MikBed1When I shot all of those photographs, a seedling of thought planted itself in the back of my mind. I pictured being old and gray, dragging out the old albums and slide carousel during visits with the boys and laughing with them for hours as we reminisced. Well, I’m older and definitely gray, but my plan for how these photos would be viewed in this time of my life could not be farther from the reality that exists. And that is the real reason why I procrastinate scanning these photos, I become too emotional.

How fun it would be to have one day, repeated for a week, like in the movie Groundhog Day – one day, when my boys were young, when the world was enticing and safe, one day to repeat with those little guys for a full week…

JcsnPkMkJckt2Where are you going, my little one, little one,

Where are you going, my baby,my own?

Turn around and you’re two,turn around and you’re four,

Turn around and you’re a young man going out of my door.

BAR_LINE2

8 responses to “Turn Around

  1. Your stories touch my heart dear brave lady !

    Like

  2. Funny. Garry and I were having this very discussion this morning. There are so many pictures I have only as prints in an album. Many ONLY in my wedding albums. I hate the scanning process. It may be one of the must stultifyingly dull activities on the planet, but it needs doing. I just don’t WANT to. I feel like a hero of labor if I get two or three done in a week!

    Like

  3. This is just sad to me :(. But you will live! :). I love photography too

    Like

  4. So much of love here. Sprightly happy love, cuddling love; love through pain; love pressed into the valleys of reality.
    But it’s still love. That doesn’t change.

    Liked by 1 person

Thoughts on this?

