NaBloPoMo and Sloppy Joes

I have to, I have to, I absolutely have to write something to honor my commitment to the NaBloPoMo, but, the day is nearly gone and I must tend to kitchen duties.  How, oh how can I fulfill my obligation for today?

Wait!  Kitchen Duties.  Recipes. Yeah, recipes!  I am going to solve today’s obligation by posting an old recipe from my Mom’s recipe collection.  I think she scoured it from the Chicago Tribune years and years ago, when I was a child.  This was one of my favorites as a kid and even as a grown-up, although I cannot attest to it being a health-food.

Here we go, Mom’s Sloppy Joes:

sloppyJoesI’ve kept the ingredients and their measurements true to the original recipe, but, since I am all about convenience, I whittled down the manner in which to prepare the recipe.  I “throw” everything except the meat, into a blender and purée those ingredients.  After the ground beef is cooked through and drained, I “throw” the contents of the blender into the pot where the cooked ground beef is and simmer for 1-2 hours – giving the flavors time to mingle sufficiently.

Serve on hamburger buns with whatever side snacks, potato chips, etc.. you desire.

Whew!  I did it! Bon Appétit!

BAR_LINE2

10 responses to “NaBloPoMo and Sloppy Joes

  1. good job on finding a very reasonable way to fulfill your post for the day! It actually sounds quite yummy. We don’t eat a lot of sloppy joe’s in our home, but when we do, I enjoy it. Sometimes I skip the bread and go for mashed potatoes!

    Like

  2. OOoo, mashed potatoes would be wonderful with this! Comfort food all the way around!

    Like

  3. I like the fact that you kept your blogging going. Well done! I wouldn’t be able to use the recipe in this form, as I’m veggie, but I’m sure it will taste just as nice with veggie meat! Well done too on your positive approach to you know what. We have same battle in our household. 🙂

    Like

  4. P S. A Sloppy Joe in my neck of the woods is a pullover/jumper/sweater. Does that mean I can wear the hamburgers?

    Like

  5. I never thought to simmer the meat for sloppy joes. I do wonder why they don’t taste very sloppy joe-ish and more like spaghetti meat sauce on buns lol

    Thanks for the tip!

    Like

  6. I bet if someone was really smart (smarter than me), they could adapt this into a crockpot recipe. Sounds yummy!

    Like

Thoughts on this?

