Pampered or Prepared?

Daily Post: Take CareWhen you’re unwell, do you allow others to take care of you, or do you prefer to soldier on alone? What does it take for you to ask for help? Photographers, artists, poets: show us HELP.

sleepHosp1

© Stock-clip.com

Throughout my life, I have been quite healthy. Ok, in that flashed moment of declaring such good health, my mind recalled the time I had a hysterectomy due to “suspicious cells” discovered after a cervical biopsy. This event occurred within a year after the birth of my fourth child in my thirty-fifth year. I recall having to depend upon my older children and husband to help with the baby when he needed diapering, bathing or feeding and I felt most uncomfortable asking for their help, but, I had no choice. I do not like having no choice. I do not like asking for help.

freezer3

© What’s Cookin’ Chicago
Cook & Freeze Ahead

Independence is a major facet of my nature. I learned early in life that if I wanted something, I had to work toward achieving it, no matter what it was. Perhaps during that same lesson, I learned the futility of asking for help and abandoned any future attempts to seek help. So, when my hysterectomy surgery approached, I was as prepared as possible. My home was organized, meals were cooked and frozen ahead of time, groceries were stocked – two week’s worth! This is my nature and unless I am totally incapable of caring for myself, I will always do as much for myself as humanly possible during any time of need.

BAR_LINE2

2 responses to “Pampered or Prepared?

  1. Since the last bunch of surgeries, I have no choice but to depend on other people. I don’t like it, but there life isn’t necessarily the way we want it. If I’d invented Pet Rocks, I could HIRE help.

    Liked by 1 person

Thoughts on this?

