Good Normals, Bad Normals

Daily Post: The Normal – Is being “normal” — whatever that means to you — a good thing, or a bad thing? Neither? Photographers, artists, poets: show us EVERYDAY.

According to Webster, “normal” is defined likewise: nor·mal ˈnôrməl/
adjective:
1.conforming to a standard; usual, typical, or expected.“it’s quite normal for puppies to bolt their food”
synonyms:usual, standard, ordinary, customary, conventional, habitual, accustomed, expected, wonted;

I do not like this prompt, or maybe it is not the prompt which I dislike, it is the early morning hour at which time I am awake because of a certain doggy who woke me up three times last night, needing to go outside to relieve himself and now, I cannot fall back to sleep – it would be useless to try. Unfortunately, this is the new normal for me as my sweet puppy responds to his increasing age, which is exacerbated by diabetes. This new normal is considered by me to be a bad thing.

windy-fall

© Maja Lindberg
Lomma, Sweden

When I opened the door to let my dog outside, the winds were blowing chillier air than a mere week ago, there is a change in the weather as Fall approaches and this change continues to be a normal cycle for the earth as it has been for millions of years. I like this sort of normal.

My kitty just spoke to me from the hallway, outside the bathroom door. I am proud to say I understand cat meows as well as dog grunts and barks, I guess that makes me multi-species-lingual. I knew what Opie wanted, for me to turn the faucet on in the bathroom sink. She prefers to drink water while it streams from the faucet rather than in a bowl next to her food. She was raised to drink from the same water basin as the dogs, but, much prefers, running water to their slobbery water, even though I wash the basin daily. Drinking from a streaming faucet is my kitty’s normal way to consume water.

BadNews

© Bizarrocomics.com

In the course of any day, all of us experience many situations of normal, good and bad. I like normal events which are good, like soft spring rains in spring time, big, fat snowflakes blanketing our neighborhood on Christmas morning. I do not like normal events which are bad, like the stories that fill our news broadcasts these days which are becoming the “norm.”

BAR_LINE2

2 responses to “Good Normals, Bad Normals

  1. When I was a kid, “normal” meant “like everyone else.” Now, I have no idea what it means.

    Liked by 1 person

Thoughts on this?

