Weekly Writing Challenge: Power of Names

Weekly Writing Challenge: Power of Names

I was born the fourth of six children and intended to be the final child, especially since I was female and evened out the family – two boys and two girls.

moviestarsparade194809-jeanne-crain1My older sister and brothers were all named after movie stars who were famous at the time of their births. They were also given middle names. For some reason, however, I was not given a middle name and neither were my younger sister and brother when they finally joined the crowd.

Maybe my parents ran out of ideas for middle names. Maybe it was a new fad. I will never know. But, getting back to my name, “Susan,” I was named after the movie star, Susan Hayward. Nevertheless, I came to despise that name!

HogCaller

HOG CALLER
“SUEY”

There were no fun or cute nicknames for anyone named Susan. Oh, sure, there was “Sue,” but add a “y” like my brothers did, and that nickname soon became a call for hogs and the start of endless years of torment for a girl named “Susan.”

Once, I told my mom that I thought my nickname could be “Suzy”, it sounded reasonable to me, but my mother quashed that strategy with the fact that my name was spelled s-u-s-a-n, there was no “z” in it, therefore I could not be called “su-Z-y”. Drat!

Yet, in the course of my life, there have been older men at work who called me “Suzy.” I don’t know if it was because they thought I was sweet or cute, but, even now, at my ripe old age of sixty, some older men still call me “Suzy.”

Better than that, society seems to have dropped the rules for names, heck, if I were born in today’s time, I might have been named “Apple” or “Banana” or “Starlight” and nicknames could be anything I chose, not governed by any spelling rules based upon my given name. But, I did my nickname one better…

Even though I could now use “Susie” as my nickname (my name DOES have an “s” in it) I chose to push the envelope and be unconventional with both, spelling and pronunciation – thus, I have become “Swoosieque” this totally nonsensical, misspelled, improper name suits me just fine and there will be no hog calling with a name like that!

BAR_LINE2

For more thoughts on the Power of Names:

10 responses to “Weekly Writing Challenge: Power of Names

  1. Liberation by misspelling! How wonderful! Good for you! xxx

  2. Hi,

    Banana or Apple is funny but true. Thank you so much for the ping-back and for compiling the list from the name challenge.

    Awesome site, by the way.

    ~Cathy~

  3. In our part of the world, Susan can be easily called Susie:) Nevertheless it’s still a sweet name. Funny how I know quite a handful of people who don’t like their names as well, lol, that includes me!
    I enjoyed reading your post! Thanks for the ping back!

  4. So cool that we both confronted our parents about our names! :D I adore “Swoosieque”, btw.

  5. Cool story! I, too (at least I’m told), got the movie-star name treatment. Except I got the star’s last name, and thank goodness not the first. I could never pull off a Vivien.

  6. Pingback: We, the Dragons, shall live, for all eternity! | Wired With Words

I love when you leave comments. Thank you!

